Five Photos, Five Stories: Day 4

I’ve been invited to take part in the “Five Photos, Five Stories” challenge by Alison of Scene by Minerva. The challenge is quite simply to “post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”.

My five photos are going to depict what I love about Cornwall. The light, the colours, the coast, the history.

lichens
Beautiful Patches

Today I am focussing on colour. Yellow is one colour that I associate with Cornwall. The bright daffodils dancing in the fields in early spring; the deep golden gorse in early summer; yellow sandy beaches contrasting with the blue sky and blue-green sea and the wonderful yolk yellow/orange lichens on roofs and walls creating living intricate textures and patterns. (please click image to enlarge)

Caloplaca marina the Orange Sea Lichen is a crustose, placodioid lichen. It has wide distribution, and can be found near the shore on rocks or walls. Calos in Greek means nice, placa in Greek is shield. Caloplaca therefore means ‘beautiful patches’.

My nomination today is Elaine of I used to be indecisive who always makes me smile with her weekly ‘Friday Letters’. Absolutely no requirement to join in, only if you want to.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

25 thoughts on “Five Photos, Five Stories: Day 4”

  1. Love these lichens Jude. They could be almost anything. An abstract, a satellite view, a microscopic sample. Great stuff!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. What wonderful textures, Jude….makes a lovely, vibrant colourful abstract! I shall look forward to more of these 😀

    1. There are two types of lichen here Tess, the crusty pale blueish-grey ones are most likely crustose placodioid as the pattern spreads out from the centre and the crusty egg yolk-yellow one is Caloplaca marina. Apparently there are 20,000 known species of lichens!! Now that is a LOT of photos…

    1. I look forward to seeing what you come up with Elaine 🙂
      And as I said to Tess, there are over 20,000 known species of lichens so get looking!

    1. I was quite drawn to them this time Sylvia. I have always taken the odd photo of lichens and took a lot of the hanging stuff (which I now know is a fruticose type) when on the Pacific Rim.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

