WPC: Intricate

intricate
The maze at Glendurgan, Cornwall

Glendurgan is one of the great subtropical gardens of the South West. Set in a wooded valley dropping steeply to the hamlet of Durgan on the shore of the beautiful Helford Estuary. The garden is best known for its laurel maze, planted in 1833 and a firm favourite with children.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

48 thoughts on “WPC: Intricate”

  1. Lovely gardens and maze Jude. I was stuck in Hampton Court Maze for ages as a teenager. I have tended to avoid them ever since!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. You have left some here too 😦
      A bank holiday weekend and we have rain and also someone digging up the road (which has been turned into two-way traffic as the May fair is in town and most of the streets around us are closed, so how on earth did they get permission to do it today?) using a pneumatic drill!! I want to go back to Cornwall!!!!

      1. Gosh, Joanne. You learn something new about someone every day. I would never have guessed that about you. I suppose we all have our fears. For the record, I LOVE getting lost. We used to do it on purpose when I was a kid. We would head out on our bikes and take streets we’d never been down and ride and ride to new places and then try and find our way home. Some of my fondest memories. 🙂

        1. Perhaps the maze is more of a feeling of claustrophobia? I developed a fear of being trapped later on in life and now avoid places and situations where I can’t see out (rooms without windows, caves etc) lifts are OK as at least they are quick!

    1. I have never liked a maze since seeing the film ‘The Shining’ – took me several attempts to watch that to the end I can tell you…

    1. You don’t have mazes? I think the idea of a maze to get lost in was imported from France. But the idea of labyrinths goes back a long, long way. I find them a bit spooky.

  2. OH! I LOVE mazes!! One of the two things I most wanted to do when my parents took me to Europe when I was 12 was the Hampton Court Maze. It was closed. That’s what you get for travelling out of season as we always did (and still often do). The other was the Ferris Wheel in Vienna. It was also closed for the winter. 😦 On the plus side, I have since done both and the Maze twice – once in my 20s alone and then with my husband and children.

    We have a wooden maze near us and you must get to each of four coloured flags in the maze before you are allowed to exit (you have a card you have to get stamped at each station where the flags are). I absolutely ADORE doing that with my boys. We’re all so competitive! 😀

    I am just itching to get into the maze in your photo. It looks spectacular!

    1. You lead such an exciting life Heather! I imagine a rather loud and chaotic household with all those males 😀
      Feel free to drop into my maze any time 🙂

  3. You have seen so many different gardens Jude and this maze looks rather intimidating, I am definitely directionally challenged so I would be in there for ages. Can you jump up and see over the hedges? I once got really lost in an Ikea store, it was like a maze, only one way out. Ended up with quite a number of us following each other trying to find the way out and no assistants anywhere. I think it was a ploy to keep you in and maybe you would buy some thing…

  4. I am so glad I don’t have to tend that maze – what absolute perfection, right down to the last leaf. One wrong snip and you could change the whole flow. I can so picture giggling kids running through the twists and turns.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

