Travel Theme: Trees

Spring has sprung and the trees around Ludlow are wearing their bright new clothes…

P1200283

some are green

or yellow

P1200313

P1200335

or a shade of pink

P1200338

some are just plain show-offs

P1200341

others are insanely frothy

P1200328

I love photographing trees.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

42 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Trees”

    1. Well it’s mostly 4WD and landrovers around here Andy, with a lot of tractors in the countryside! It is a lovely town to walk around still.

    1. I am guessing that both the white and pink are flowering cherries, they are enormous! I was amazed at the sheer number of flowers on the pink one!

  1. I love trees. My mother always likes to remind me that as a child I was always up the top of the nearest tree. Don’t do so much tree climbing these days but I’d be sorely tempted to climb that flowering cherry tree. Wouldn’t it be a glorious spot to sit for a while?

    1. They are just so giving! Bold, bare structures through the winter when you can see through them to the landscape beyond, bright new myriads of greens in spring, fully clothed providing shade in summer, then the wonderful autumnal colours! The countryside would be very drab without trees, and that’s not to mention what they do for the planet!

    1. I left a lot out Sue! It was so good to see colour in the landscape again. And that blossom was stunning. I spotted a lilac about to bloom too so I will be back down that street in a week or two 🙂

  2. I’ve been enjoying the fresh lime green leaves and yesterday I found that the Exmouth town council have planted three lovely ginkgos in a shopping centre, they look fab!

    1. I think that is a cherry tree too. A lovely lady in her garden spotted me taking a photo of her tulips and took me to see her apple tree, covered in bees. So pretty. Deep pink buds opening to pale pink edged white flowers. I adore springtime. 🙂

  3. That azure blue sky is a glorious backdrop to the fresh shades of the spring foliage and blossom. It must be so good to have spring back in all its glory.

  4. I love flowering trees and “insanely frothy” is a perfectly wonderful expression 🙂
    If you wouldn’t mind sending me a couple of those flowering babies, I’d really appreciate it 😉

  5. A great post, both words and photos. I’m relishing lilac, chestnuts and malus floribunda (J’s back in ID residence!) here, but it’s so hard to do them photographic justice. Any hints?

      1. Thank you, my guru! Any ID would be more than welcome. We’re a bit stymied here. And which chestnuts can you eat? J’s already embroiled in a discussion on this subject.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

