More doors than you can shake a stick at…

Dawn’s monthly architecture challenge features doors this month. I like doors. And in Ludlow there are a LOT of photogenic doors…

Front doors are very important in feng shui, it is through the front door – also called the mouth of Chi – that the house receives its nourishment of feng shui energy. Your choice should be based on the direction the door is facing.

East facing or South-east? Then you should look at Wood, or wood element colours such as green or brown. But as wood comes from earth and water you can look at colours from these elements as well. Green, brown, blue, black, pale yellow and earthy tones work well. But avoid purple.

collage 1

West facing? Then the element is Metal. So white or grey are the most suitable though you could also use earthy shades and pale yellow. This also applies to a north-west facing door. Avoid water or fire colours.

white doors (U)

South facing? Then the Feng shui element is Fire. So you can go for red, purple, deep orange, strong yellow or deep pink. Green and brown are also OK, but avoid blue and black.

red doors (U)

South-west  and north-east facing is Earth and therefore pale yellow, sandy or earthy colours are preferable, but as fire is an element of earth you can also choose the fire colours. Earthy/sandy colours, yellow, burgundy red, purple, deep orange, and rich pink. Avoid green, brown, white, grey, blue and black.

blue door collage (U)The feng shui element of the North direction is Water, so the best colours to choose are blue or black. Metal elements can also be used so white and grey are OK. Avoid green, brown, yellow, red, purple, orange, and deep pink.

My front door is south facing and wooden, so I guess that’s OK. Though I actually prefer a blue door so I need to look for a house with a North or East facing door.

Is your front door painted the correct feng shui colour? Do you care?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

79 thoughts on “More doors than you can shake a stick at…”

  1. Goodness! You were right – lots of doors. When we visited Dublin, we took a tour bus that explained about Dublin’s doors. They certainly hold a fascination for people.

  2. Mine is red and we do face roughly South so I guess I’m ok. I have a strong preference for the red block of images, though I also like the door knockers in the second block.

  3. Some great doors here Jude. I remember finding some crackers in Bath years ago too.

    The Beetley door? East-facing, UPVC Double-Glazed, brown plastic, two glass panels. Weatherproof, no painting required, lifts off easily for large furniture, seven-lever security lock.

    That’ll do nicely thanks, I will leave the Feng-Shui to the Chinese.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Sounds…. very practical Pete. I’d expect nothing less in the Beetley household 😉
      And as East = Wood then brown is an excellent colour. Good feng shui 🙂

  4. I love this collection of doors (I love doors as much as benches 🙂 ).
    Our front door is roughly north east facing and is brown. Oh dear – bad feng shui. Until a few years ago it was just the natural oak varnished, but we had it painted and I have never liked it so we are going back to the natural wood (just as soon as we get round to it…).

        1. There are covenants which govern what we can do to our houses, or how high a fence we can have, or whether we can chop down a tree in the front garden, or hang washing to dry at the front of the house (we can’t) etc. I think there might be one covering our front doors, because I am pretty sure that I haven’t seen a brightly coloured door round here – I will have to check!

  5. Great doors, Jude…. And for the record, mine is roughly North facing, brown wood, but I’m not Chinese, so do I need to worry about feng shui (the back door is roughly South facing, also brown wood…… 😳

  6. I’m terrible with directions and just go with the colour regardless! I love the sage green doors here, that’s the colour I would pick, but as it stands, we have a white front door with black accents and I’m happy with that for now 🙂 Are these doors all from your neighbourhood Jude? They look like they belong to lovely houses. I would definitely never have purple, no matter which direction it was facing. Hope you enjoyed your Sunday lunch 🙂 xx

    1. Follow the sun round Sherri – that should help you find the direction of your front door. I love that pale green on cottages too. Especially if they are stone cottages.

      Lunch was excellent and it was a lovely sunny day too. Make the most of the sun 🙂

      1. You’d think I’d get that by now wouldn’t you? I put it down to being left-handed 😉 Ahh, so glad…that sounds wonderful and yes, we got that lovely sunshine after all, and today too! Spent yesterday afternoon sitting in the garden with a lovely G&T 🙂

  7. Blimey. So many doors. I’m surprised you didn’t get reported to the Be Alert Not Alarmed Bureau for suspicious terrorist activity.
    I love the purple one in the top right corner of the first picture.
    Our door faces kind of south and is kind of brown so I guess we’re kind of okay.

    1. I wonder if it makes any difference being in the southern hemisphere? Like, does it work the opposite way round? Like water and plug-holes?

    1. Yuck! I hate UPVC doors, but accept that they are practical, especially near the coast – all that salt air. We bought a new door for our flat, but picked a black ‘grained’ one (fortunately it faced East) so it didn’t look plastic. I can see you with a red door – it would suit you.

  8. Ours is north-facing and sort of a burgundy/egg-plant color. I love European doors and those in our New England states, but the rest of the country has fairly boring utilitarian doors. All the more reason I enjoy seeing your array!

  9. So many doors! I’m chuckling at the thought of you walking up and down every street in your town, taking photos of everyone’s front doors. 😀 I think our new house faces South-West, and I intend to keep the front door bright red.

  10. I love brightly coloured doors and mine would be red if I could. Perhaps it’s just as well I don’t repaint our North-facing door from its current off-white. I would hate to be offside with Feng Shui principles 🙂

  11. LOL Jude, that’s a lotta doors – was happy to read you’ve shot them over a long period of time. Worried about you running around door-to-door to compile this one!!! Loved the Feng Shui explanation!

    1. Thanks Tina – given all the doors I figured it might be nice to have a story to go with them – I should have searched for some quotes!

  12. Jude that is one serious collection of doors! Loving all the colors which you would be very hard pressed to find in Calgary. I don’t know anything about Feng Shui and no I don’t give it any thought I must admit. Ours is primarily glass with wood.

  13. Love no. 15 with its pretty heart shaped wreath, and that wonderful angel knocker! 🙂 We’ve committed the cardinal UPVC crime, both here and in the Algarve, Jude. But at least we got our colours right 🙂
    Happy travels! Pack the sunshine to take with you 🙂

    1. UPVC is something we have to live with even if we don’t have to love it! Good that you have the right colour though! I hope the sun shines, but right now I just need to get away and see the sea!

    1. No, you just need to buy a house where the front door faces the direction of the colour you would like. Sigh! It was easier the way you wrote it. What colour do you fancy then?

  14. Missed this post first time round Jude (we were cruising) thank you for the link, very interesting. I guess we have it right by default the door is yellow and faces east. It is well and truly ready for a touch up paint job, one day… But I would keep it yellow as I love the happy sunny look of it… 🙂

      1. Thanks Jude, all the walls of our very small Granny flat are a pale yellow, so light and cheerful. When we moved in this area was all dark red brick which we quickly got rendered and I painted yellow.

        1. Me too. This place originally had shades on the west side to keep out the sun, they were the first things Jack took down…

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

