WPC: Blur

Taking photos from a moving vehicle, in this case The Canadian Train across the continent from Toronto to Vancouver, means that the images are not necessarily as sharp as they could be.

blur
Sunflowers in the Prairies

But you get the idea that these croplands are BIG!

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

50 thoughts on “WPC: Blur”

  1. great moving atmosphere! i arrived through “Blur” and now saw your “Bench” series. lovely idea. will look for a Bench with a view. Have a beautiful weekend~

        1. Ah, but much nicer, watching the landscapes roll by, rocking to sleep with the motion of the train, dining in the restaurant car and sitting up in the observation cabin with a 360 degree view! SO much better than flying. It was expensive when we did it (2005) but well worth it.

        2. Probably a good thing! Well, going by trains in this country which are expensive, often overcrowded and sometimes filthy. Unfortunately I do have to use them occasionally.

    1. I usually avoid taking photos from the side view as that always comes out very blurred, whereas through the front they can be OK. No option on the train though, unless you managed to get the front seat up in the observation cabin. I do like the feeling of movement this one portrays, speeding past huge fields of crops and yet still seeing so much.

  2. oh I would love to take a train through Canada like this – bet it was nice, eh? (get it.. eh?- jk)

    and what a nice entry for the wpc – seems like such a nice weather on this day….

    1. I did go back to BC in 2010 so not so long ago (I love it there) but no, not Ottawa, though the OH did attend a conference there once. I didn’t go with him. It was autumn and very orange 🙂

  3. Your photos are always amazing, but what impresses me the most about this one is the fact the windows of the train appear to have been clean!!
    … and I’m equally impressed that Sue Slaght correctly guessed the location! I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve never been to the Canadian prairies.

    1. I think Sue drives through them (or knowing her, cycles) so she probably recognised that very field 😉
      And the windows did get very dirty, though they were washed at a couple of places where the train stopped for a while.

  4. Vast croplands and what a gorgeous photo Jude, perfect for the challenge, havn’t had a chance to get to all my emails yet so thanks for the heads-up with the prompt! My mum and her friend took a train trip across the Rockies once…would love to do that but can’t even imagine the cost….

    1. The Rockies one is cheaper as it is less time. We went through the Rockies, but most of it was at night! Bad timing! Should have got the train in the other direction.

  5. I didn’t realise they grew sunflowers out there. I thought it was all grain. I took that train too, in 2004. Why on earth they scheduled it to go through the Rockies at night remains one of life’s great mysteries!

    1. I quite agree! Should have done it in reverse – Vancouver to Toronto I suppose 😦
      They grow a lot of rapeseed/canola there too so I wonder if the sunflowers are also grown for processing into cooking oil?

        1. Although, thinking about it, perhaps it IS done deliberately so that you stop off at Jasper and connect with the Rockies Explorer or whatever that is called.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

