Ephemeral Pleasure

For one fleeting moment I came face-to-face with the coyote. My trembling fingers clicked the shutter. Then he was gone. All too quickly. Blending in with the dry corn-coloured grasses. And I was able to breathe again…

ephemeral
A fleeting glimpse of a wild coyote in Yosemite Valley
Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

37 thoughts on “Ephemeral Pleasure”

  1. When you enlarge it, you realise just how well-camouflaged he (or she) is. And I like the use of a border, making the shot feel older than it is.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I hadn’t really thought about it. Turned a corner, looked up and there he was! Only afterwards did I wonder whether coyotes are dangerous. Only to rabbits 🙂

  2. Those special moments are so precious and your capture is a gem, Jude. What a beautiful shot, everything fits! I stopped breathing reading your word. 🙂
    Best regards from the Rhine Valley, soon on the go again,
    Dina x

  3. That’s bloody MARVELLOUS, Jude ! To come face to face with the wilderness as represented by one of its denizens must be … I can’t think of the right word. But I am very envious.

  4. What a great shot! You have a good eye to have seen him since he blends so well into the background.
    If you hadn’t mentioned he was a coyote, I would have assumed he was a dog … maybe that’s why I don’t tend to see anything spectacular in the wild 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

