Bench series #12

For the month of March I’m looking for Wooden benches

waiting 2
A wooden bench at the tram stop in Plainpalais, Geneva – but someone got there first.

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: March
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in April

My Picks of the Week:

Another bench from Dawn, with a gorgeous barn in the background.
A bench with attitude from Sylvia
and Naomi joined us with a whole raft of benches (she is not the only one)
Lumar1298 brought some more carved benches to join in
Sherri joins us this month with wooden benches (in black and white) fulfilling two months in one!
El Rolyat takes me back to a place I once knew very well and Issy has a bit of bother getting her post done this month!
Meanwhile the troublesome restless one hits us with a whole bucket-load of benches – there is sure to be one you fancy 🙂

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

44 thoughts on “Bench series #12”

  1. Troublesome? ME? I herewith withdraw from your challenge now and forever! (slaps gauntlet down on bench! Do you have the impression you have offended me? 🙂 🙂 ). Good job I like you! I have a character not unlike that one sitting on a stone bench in Central Portugal, Jude. I would dig it out for a future challenge but I’ve just tied my own hands, haven’t I? (mission accomplished- well done- peace and quiet forever! 🙂 ) It’s a cracking photo anyway. Your one, not mine. Happy Sunday!

    1. Nah, you’re not getting away with it that easily. I fully expect more benches from you Jo – benches with views, benches by the sea, benches with someone/thing on it… get clicking!!

      And troublesome is meant in the MOST affectionate way, as well you know 😉

  2. I do like benches with statues to sit next to. However, they do sort of defeat the object of providing somewhere for a few people to sit.
    I have to go with the painted bench, featuring ‘Mr and Mrs Death’. Very quirky, and it appealed to me a lot. I would like one like that in my garden, but I doubt that Julie would approve!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. He was part of an outdoor exhibition, probably not there now. I picture you and Julie with a delicately scrolled metal bench – with cushions of course 😀

      1. Sorry, but nothing delicately scrolled! We have a two-seat affair, joined by a table (for my wine glass) and a hole for a parasol (for the rain…). It is in wood, and was assembled by my step-son. Needs a varnish now though. I sit in it at dusk, and watch the tiny bats flying around the garden in the summer. x

        1. Should have known that yours would be totally practical. Better get that varnish out Pete! We have bats here too, though quite big ones (well not as big as the fruit bats), I love watching them in the summer evenings at dusk.

    1. At the time I was photographing the sculptures (there were a few of them in the square). I never realised how many benches I took photos of!

  3. Oooh…some nice benches to explore here Jude, and I adore your photo. He didn’t mind you taking his photo then? You really do get some great shots from all over the world. Thanks so much for tagging my bench (two for the price of one!) 🙂 xx

    1. Sherri, when I look at my photos I am astonished at how many feature benches – which is why I decided to post them. I wasn’t even aware that I was doing it. I am now though o_O

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

