Benthall Hall

Situated on a plateau above the gorge of the River Severn, this fine stone house has mullioned and transomed windows, a stunning interior with carved oak staircase and decorated plaster ceilings and oak panelling. National Trust

DSCF4040
Benthall Hall – front view

It is always a good idea to look up at windows, you never know what you might see. Like the carved figure heads and hands.

DSCF4062
The side view – from the beautiful terraced garden

And an interesting Dovecote with a window

There is also a little Restoration church

DSCF3987
Restoration Church which includes an apiary

DSCF4041

This monthly challenge is hosted by Dawn from ‘The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story. Visit her blog to see more windows and/or to join in with the challenge.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

37 thoughts on “Benthall Hall”

    1. Half an hours drive I guess. I must return in the summer months to see how those gardens perform, not much doing in this very early spring garden.

  1. Now you are on my doorstep, Jude, and also reminding me that it’s a long time since we visited this ‘on our doorstep’ lovely house. Splendid photos as ever.

        1. late Tudor. Hampton Court Palace was built in 1514 so early Tudor. I must visit it. It is only a stone’s throw from my daughter and I have driven past it many times, but never gone in!

  2. What a good looking place, Jude! Love the dovecot. I’ll be quite nearby in August but with no transport so I’ll have to rely on you posting Summer flowers. 🙂

        1. Yes- no fun for driving! I’m going down to see a friend who’s lived there for 25+ years and still hasn’t been to the festival 🙂

  3. I’ll take it, Jude. What a wonderful place it must have been to live in. I love those tall chimneys, and to have the sound of doves to wake up to, must have been heavenly. The garden and lawns are just gorgeous. Of course I would have be able to afford help to clean the windows and do the gardening and cleaning. 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

