Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons #3

The beginning of spring. March.  Came in like a lion, roaring winds and sharp bursts of rain punctuated with an odd day of almost summer warmth. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to do my walk on that day and ever since it has been grey and gloomy although I did grab a few shots last Monday when it was sunshine and clouds.

DSCF0849Not a lot happening here on Dinham, except the skip has been moved. Bet you never even noticed that last month! One thing about Ludlow is that there are so many old houses the tradesmen always have work – new roofs, window repairs, renovation projects etc.

DSCF0852

Date: March 15 2015
Weather: Cloudy
Temperature: Cold (7°C but feels like 4º)
Time: 2 – 3 pm

But there is life in the Castle gardens – lovely golden daffodils dancing in the chilly wind. And soon there will be blossom appearing too. And although people are walking around today on Mother’s Day, no-one is yet sitting on any of the benches.

Signs of spring
Signs of spring
DSCF0865
A cottage garden on Dinham

The thing I notice most on this walk, apart from all the dog-walkers, is the sound of birds singing. I wish I could capture that. A pair of courting ducks sit on the wall of Dinham bridge and watch over their friends swimming far below. The view is not so great today in the grey. The water looks cold.

DSCF0875

I search for signs of new life, but there is very little difference between now and last month. I was hoping there would be more greenery. And I can’t see my swans today. I hope they are safe. The trees on the top of Whitcliff are just the same as last month, only the sky is different.

DSCF0911A bench on the corner at Ludham catches my eye as it is surrounded by late flowering daffodils still in bud. I wonder if they will be open next month when I pass by this way.

DSCF0915

Lower Broad Street is empty, though one elderly gentleman did a sweet dance for me in front of the camera. I was too embarrassed to photograph him then, but caught a shot from behind. He did at least make me smile in the cold. A few pots of early daffs, some vibrant primulas and a winter-flowering erica added some colour to the drabness of the day. The crocuses and blossom I found last week on a sunnier day.

DSCF0924The Cardinal has decided to have a photo project going throughout 2015 – a blogging event, a monthly photo challenge. Find a location near your home, take somewhere between 5-20 photos and post them in a gallery in your blog. Continue to do this every month. The idea is to capture all the changes: the seasons, the weather, different times of the day, some night photography perhaps?

Hopefully there will be more dramatic changes next month, I’m certainly hoping so!

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

59 thoughts on “Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons #3”

  1. What a lovely place to live! We had a week in a cottage near Hereford once and visited Ludlow then but I had forgotten how pretty it was (must have been about 20 years ago so I have some excuse for the memory lapse.)

    1. Sometimes it is a bit like living in a museum there is so much history here, but it is a very lively place apart from the winter months when everything seems to hibernate.

    1. Thank you Gerard. I used a slightly opaque silk effect on the header which gives it that painterly feel. Helps camouflage the blurriness of the image o_O

  2. It was a lot like that here yesterday. Cold and grey, feeling worse than it was.
    The small spring changes in Ludlow are replicated in Norfolk. Bulbs flowering, birds becoming more active, squirrels appearing now and then, ducks on the water.
    The header looks like an Impressionist painting. Do you have a ‘tweak’ for that effect I wonder?
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. It was colder out than I first thought as it looked quite mild, none of the wind we’ve been having, but within 10 minutes my hands were frozen! Seems as if the winter is taking its time to leave us, but then I have never documented the changes in such minute detail. I go around checking every tree and plant for signs of life – people seeing me must think I’m barking mad! Answered your query re: effect above 😀

  3. So nice to see the rebounding of nature after a long winter. The pops of colour from the spring flowers is such a welcome sight!!

    The picture that really caught my attention is the one with the bench surrounded by daffodils …. but it was that magnificent tree in the background that jumped out at me. It appears to be clinging to the side of the wall. Everything about that photo is something interesting to look at!

    1. Yes, that’s really weird seeing the roots like that. I don’t believe I have noticed them before though I have taken photos from this angle. Maybe in the summer months they are not noticeable because of the flowers? I shall have to look in my archives and see if I have this shot. One to look out for over the year I think.

  4. Lovely post, Jude – thanks for the wander! Blossom always makes me think of Spring, I must get looking nearby. My apple tree looked as tough it might have a decent show of blossom this year, saw quit e a few buds the other day 🙂

    1. I have no idea what tree the blossom is on, it’s just planted at the intersection of two streets. I’ll have to keep having a look to see what happens, but it was lovely to find. I didn’t realise how slowly everything happens, looking at the same things month after month is quite fascinating, those magnolia should be open next month if we get some warmth!

  5. This place you live is enchanting and delightful to me, Jude. I would never want to stay indoors in decent weather. There’s so much to feast your eyes on, everywhere. Thank for sharing, Jude. Spring fever is blazing. ❤ ❤ ❤

    1. Well spring is the start of lots of happening things here in Ludlow. I may sneak in a few photos of the market once the weather is better though I am trying to concentrate on the exact route each month to highlight the changes. Don’t want it to get boring though…

  6. Beautiful photos. I love how quaint Ludlow is. It’s actually delightful. And you say I’m lucky living in Cape Town??? The roots of that tree and the moss and the castle and the cottages. All absolutely gorgeous!!

    1. It’s cute, I’ll give you that and lovely food shops/markets, but so small! You have mountains and beaches and vineyards all within an hours drive – I’m still in the countryside in an hour!

  7. Lovely to see the daffodils Jude. Here to owe are hearing more birds. The geese are terribly confused as we had a big dump os now last night. A bit early me thinks. 🙂

  8. These photos are all beautiful and how lovely to view and get a sense of your area. I imagine tradespeople keeping very busy with the upkeep of those wonderful homes.

    There is such a difference between the age of the “historical buildings” in Europe, compared to the “historical buildings” here in the US. Here in California, which is a rather young state, we fawn over our own “historical buildings” that are not even 200 years old. We visited a church in Peterborough there in the UK that I think was over 1,000 years old…

    I adore the photo of the elderly gentleman — especially knowing that he did a sweet dance for you! 🙂

    1. Thank you Lola Jane, I live in a very old town – buildings here go back to the 12th century. I must admit I was very embarrassed when he did his jig for me, he didn’t say a word either, just pirouetted in front of the camera!

      1. He pirouetted? Haha! That makes it even more fun. He was being in the moment, and the older I get, the more I try to enjoy people expressing themselves in this spontaneous way. Funny, when kids start dancing in this way, we think its cute, but older people…well, maybe its us that get embarrassed watching. 🙂 In your case, he had a captive audience maybe…

    1. Part of the town walls as the Dinham Gate is practically where I am taking this photo from (well it would be if it was still there). I am looking forward to seeing this garden through the year.

  9. MARVELLOUS idea, Jude ! – Steve Rosenberger told me this months ago, and now I realize how true it is: “we want to see where you live” ! 🙂

    1. I’m not sure if that is the oldest street, but it is certainly one of the first roads into the town. There were seven ‘gates’ into the town and Dinham Gate was one of them. Only one remains today though which is on the street where I end the walk.

  10. It really is a good-looking place, Jude, and with so many benches! I was out scavenging for wooden bench photos on Sunday morning but the sky was so dreary I didn’t like a single one. I did get some decent wall shots, but it will be far too late for that challenge by the time I get there. Will come back later to catch up your other posts. I’m all behind (just for a change 🙂 )

    1. Odd that I don’t actually have many photos of benches here – or not that I took deliberately. They do seem to be sneaking in though. Blue sky appeared about an hour ago, but it is still cold here.

      1. I’ll probably hit you with a round up of mine sometime soon. I just have to ferret them out 🙂 Family huffing and puffing sorted? (for now 😦 ) Might be a late night watching Rafa so I’ve lots of much needed catch up time tonight.

  11. Such a pretty village, Jude. I love the varied styles of architecture. The bench is going to make a stunning pic once all those daffodils are in bloom. 🙂 Hope things brighten up for you very soon. I’m sure it won’t be long now. xx

  12. Grey days do make it difficult to capture the beauty of our surroundings. But I think you did an excellent job showing the color and joy hidden just below the surface. Next month will be the month….flowers abound!
    ( I love mallards) 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

