Lingering Look at Architecture: Green

Dawn of “The Day After” runs a monthly architecture challenge as well as her windows. March is the month for Green.

Key West, Florida

DSCF8542
Hemingway’s House
DSCF8521
A ‘Green’ House
DSCF8516
Shutters Galore
DSCF8551
More Shutters
DSCF8549a
Cool Verandah

The ‘classic’ Key West style of housing seems to be weather-board, shutters, balconies and fabulous wraparound verandahs open to the elements. There is a distinct tropical feel about them and I could picture myself sitting in one of those Adirondack chairs, sipping a mint julep or a margarita.

Anyone like to join me?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

39 thoughts on “Lingering Look at Architecture: Green”

  1. One thing I have always liked about certain houses in America, is the use of raised covered porches and verandahs. I’m with you on the porch chair and long cool drink Jude!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. Out of the way everyone, I’m first in line 😀 Love these houses, remind me of similar styles in the suburbs of Los Angeles with the shutters and clapboarding, except addding chain link fencing. Fascinating to see that shot of Hemingway’s house…a beauty by the looks of it.

  3. My favourite picture here is the one with the woman on a bicycle – the angle she’s riding at reflects the open shutters. I was going to say it had no verandah so I’d have to have my drink elsewhere, but I’ve spotted the balcony at the back so that will do! Margarita, thanks.

    1. That’s good observation! I think we are looking at the back of the house so that balcony is at the front – so we’ll have a good view of passing people 😉

  4. Gorgeous shots. Hemingway’s house always makes me wish I were there. I was on my way to Key West once long ago, got waylaid in Texas!! Never made it to Florida! Karma? Destiny? Luck?

        1. Well I have never been to Hawaii though I was tempted to until I found out how much the flight was – I guess you need to look into the temperatures and see which is more favourable. Nice to have that choice though 😀

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

