Punchy Pops of Orange

orange seems to be a very popular choice for a photographic challenge and here it comes again. Not wanting to repeat my previous choices I thought I’d stick with a floral scheme this time around.

“There is no blue without yellow and without orange.”

~ Vincent Van Gogh

a terracotta pot contrasts beautifully with the blue-green hues of succulents.
Succulents (2)From the palest of peaches and apricots through to copper, rust, salmon-pink and terracotta, the range of orange shades in the natural world is phenomenal.

and some plants can display many different shades of orange simultaneously as in the largish, double-formed flowers of apricot-orange with shades of rose-pink borne in medium-sized clusters on the fragrant Ann Aberconway rose.

Ann Aberconway

“Orange is red brought nearer to humanity by yellow.”

~ Wassily Kandinsky

If you like flowers as much as I do then head over to The Earth Laughs with Flowers where you will find these and many more…

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

68 thoughts on “Punchy Pops of Orange”

      1. I remember my mum and dad were almost fanatical about their roses when I was growing up, and I never really saw what they saw in them. All I knew was that we had to be really careful not to damage them! Now with the benefit of my more mature years, I think I can appreciate them more. 🙂

  1. A lovely selection. The top picture looks like one of my favourite roses ‘Lady Emma Hamilton’. And I enjoyed the quote from Kandinsky too (another favourite).

  2. Beautiful photos of pops of orange, really popping here Jude. The Ann Aberconway rose is absolutely gorgeous. Oh roll on spring and summer in all its glory! Hope you are having a good weekend. The sun shining here…need to get out in it! Hope for you too. I’ll start my B&W challenge on Monday…all being well, ha! 😀 xx

    1. A lovely spring day today Sherri – around 15 degrees here and we went for a walk in a park to look for snowdrops and deer – satisfied to find both in abundance 🙂

  3. Loving the variety of your gallery as always Jude. Now which shall I pick as my favorite? I think I will go with the butterfly who almost is hiding. You could have easily made him the focal point but I had to study the gallery to spot the humble star. 🙂

  4. Beautiful gallery and lovely varieties in your selections of orange, Jude. We love them all, including Kadinsky! 🙂
    Best regards from the Four of us,
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri & Selma xo

        1. I’m the same! I have been sorting through my photos for 6 years now and no further forward. In fact the only way I’ll ever do this is if I stop taking photos o_O

        2. Ha ha ha 😉 I’m sorting through a load from late 2013 and 2014 that need sending to the external hard drive so I can free up much needed space on the laptop. It’s such a hassle when I need to retrieve one for whatever project I’m working on. There are several external drives now and I usually end up looking on the wrong one first. At least it’s more like virtual storage though, fishing around in my art cupboard through the multitude of portfolios is way more tiring!!

        1. That is a fantastic competition and a great prize but unfortunately I will have to decline your nomination Jude. We leave home in 7 days and I have quite a lot still to do and also once we are on the cruise I will not be blogging as the cost of satellite connections is HUGE ie US75cents/minute…. So I will be having internet withdrawals for approx. 3 weeks… 😦
          Good luck with your entries…

  5. I love all your choices, Jude. There really are some amazing shades of orange in the natural world, aren’t there?
    (Ever since this challenge appeared, I’ve had the song “Nothing rhymes with orange” stuck in my head. :-/ )

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

