Travel Theme: Transformation

Honesty (Lunaria annua) is an annual which has lovely bright spikes of purple or white fragrant flowers in summer.

honesty flower
Honesty / Lunaria annua

In winter the seed pods are round (moon-shaped) and when the skin drops off to release the seeds, a lovely translucent silver disc is left. Called ‘The Money Plant’, ‘Silver Dollars’, or ‘Chinese coins’.

honesty seeds
Honesty Seed Heads

Quite a transformation.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

35 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Transformation”

  1. I have always seen those ‘Chinese Lantern’ seed pods, but never knew the flower associated with them. Thanks for educating me Jude. Lovely colours too.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Well, I was going to post this on the flower blog (I usually do with flower themes) but decided to risk it on here. I guess you could say that Travel Words is ‘evolving’ and may need a new moniker before long – but what?

  2. I’ve seen the silver disks but I don’t recall ever seeing the flower. I guess I’ve noticed the disks because they are so unusual. I’ll have to keep my eyes open from now on hoping to catch the flower.

  3. Oh my gosh Jude– have seen the silver dollars many, many times but had NO idea they actually flowered!! Loved your choice as that is indeed one of the most profound transformations i’ve ever seen! Thanks for solving the long-standing question for me! Lovely photos

  4. Great post for this theme Jude, it is ages since I’ve seen any honesty plants. I remember them from my childhood, my Dad was a great gardener and my Mam used to have the dried seed pods in a vase during winter. Brings back good memories

  5. You know, you’ve taught me something today Jude, I had no idea that those pretty silver ‘coins’ came from Honesty! Beautiful photos as always… 🙂 xx

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

