WPC: Symmetry

symmetry
noun

  1. the quality of being made up of exactly similar parts facing each other or around an axis

    “this series has a line of symmetry through its centre”

  2. correct or pleasing proportion of the parts of a thing

    “the overall symmetry makes the poem pleasant to the ear”

  3. similarity or exact correspondence between different things

    “the political symmetry between the two debates”

DSCF5506
Magnolia Grandiflora
DSCF5516
The Sydney Opera House

I could have gone for architecture for this week’s challenge, but as I have only recently written a post about that I thought I would try for something different. My choice is to represent the third definition of symmetry.

My question to you is, “have I pulled it off?”

 

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

27 thoughts on “WPC: Symmetry”

  1. Absolutly!!! I actually gasped in surprise as I scrolled from the creamy petals to the creamy opera house. Just amazing!

    Not to mention that the stamen in the first picture features two perfect tangle patterns!

  2. You are very clever Jude, I would not have expected such a beautiful magnolia and then the Sydney Opera House…very satisfying, really beautiful xx

    1. I remembered picking up on this (and I think Meg did too) on my Botanic Garden post so felt it fitted nicely and slightly ‘out of the box’ here. Glad you think so too 🙂

  3. You did a very good job on this one, Jude. “Very, very smart “say Siri and Selma, such a beautiful Magnopera, we never saw anything like it …

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

