Travel Theme: Doorways

I have a bit of a thing obsession for doorways and doors so this week’s theme is right up my doorway alley.

door4

In the old town of Geneva you will find this impressive doorway – The 15th century Hotel De Ville (Town Hall) located along Rue de l’Hotel-de-Ville still serves as the seat of government in Geneva and is the site of many political milestones including the first convening of the Geneva Convention in 1864 and the founding of the League of Nations in 1920.

door1

Have a peep through the doorway

door3

Inside you will find an impressive courtyard, with more doorways

door5

The large paved ramp surrounding the building its most unique feature. Built between 1555 and 1578 by Peter Desfosses, the design of the ramp enabled direct access to the upper floors on horseback or on foot.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

39 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Doorways”

  1. Love the way you capture the peeping through…and way the light and shadow merge. Never been to Geneva, certainly a very impressive doorway that 🙂

      1. What an adventure that must have been Jude! I looked into being an au pair but that was as far as it went. Lovely that you have all your photos of that time in your life to share with us now 🙂

        1. Very few photos from then Sherri. I was lucky to visit Geneva again in 2009 and spend a few days revisiting locations from my youth 🙂

        1. I suspect I’d have just been politely requested to leave! But it is probably open to the public, being the town hall, just no-one around at the time of my visit so I was unsure.

  2. Doorways can be so impressive on their own but have the additional benefit of possibly leading to more wonderful discoveries, just like this one. I love the idea of being able to ride your horse up to the next floor. 🙂

  3. One doorway leads to many – this must be a unique capturing of multiple doorways, always from just the right angle. And the colours in the second last one are superb. As a hater of stairs, I loved the idea of a ramp.

    1. Yes, it is a shame I didn’t capture a better angle of the ramp, but I wasn’t sure I was allowed in the courtyard so I didn’t hang around for very long!

        1. Well, if I was that good I wouldn’t have poked my nose into the courtyard in the first place, but yes, I know what you mean… 🙂
          Having a good time Meg?

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

