Bench series #5

For the month of February let’s see your benches processed in Black and White

Tips: Remember that the best Black & White photos are those with a lot of contrast, lots of light and shadow. But conversely the best images to convert into Black and White occur in low contrast situations – so don’t wait for that sunny day to get out there. A dark or low light day could produce your best image. Also shoot in colour first and then convert. And watch the composition. Unlike when you use colour to lead the eye into a shot, you need to look out for shapes, tones, patterns or textures to draw the eye in. Good luck!

Walking the dog…

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: February
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in March

Last week we were still in the garden:

Gilly joins in again with Daisy in Hartland Abbey Garden
and Daily Musings has a bench with views over the Hudson.
Sue takes us to a sunny bench in Devon where the flowers threaten to subsume you, but Pauline has the most unusual treat for us in Canberra (warning: do not visit when everyone is asleep).
Sherri has a bench for all seasons, in her pretty garden, of course.
One of my favourite gardens in the world from Aletta in Cape Town
And in Scotland we find Debbie has a bench with a view.
Still in N’Orleans Elaine discovers an exhibit in the garden.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

74 thoughts on “Bench series #5”

  1. Love your monochrome image, now I have to see what I can find (after I’ve tested my collapsed chocolate cake), and put my lunch on…..

      1. Love your version of events, Jude…..but what I actually meant was FAILED….but luckily for me it didn’t , after all, fail! My baking skills were very good in the past, but a) I do less these days and b) my dexterity is not what it was. This was an easy recipe that looked as if it was going badly wrong.

        1. I used to love baking, but don’t do it very often any more because then I’d have to eat the results and I’m round enough already 🙂 I like all-in-one recipes, they seldom fail and I have an amazing no flour brownie recipe – somewhere!

        2. Ooh, please find the no flour brownie recipe. I’m avoiding gluten as much as possible – the chocolate cake I made today used ground almonds instead of flour. I stopped eating puds and cakes late last year, but I have ended up losing weight which I can ill-afford…so back to cakes now and again. The main thing I am trying to cut down as much as possible is sugar. So I reduce the amount in the recipes.

        3. I’ll have a search – it also uses ground almonds and is very rich so you only need a small piece. I wish I could lose some weight, I try to eat healthily, but I still struggle with portion size.

        4. My chocolate ganache was very rich…little portions order of the day! I freeze at least half of my cake for a rainy day!

    1. Thanks! I think I was in a car-park and looked up to see this couple sitting there looking at the sea and thought ‘that’s a nice image’. Glad you like it too. 🙂

  2. Black and white photos are more interesting these days then when that’s all we had. This puts me in mind of mist and the couple on the bench (and dog) looking out over water and a long beach. I like there’s nothing else to spoil their solitude.

    1. Well, now Sue, something new for you to try this year. I reckon a few of your bicycle images would look good in B&W – all those spokes and angles with a blurred background.

        1. I only have a simple bridge camera Sue and you both take wonderful photos already. Don’t be afraid to experiment – get down low, look for an unusual angle and perspective. Be brave!

        2. You bet Jude. There is a photo we did that will come up on a post in a couple of weeks that is just that. We were ice skating at Lake Louise and Dave laid on the ice to get a close up of my skates with the mountains and lake in the background. Amazing what different angles can do!

  3. I like all the vastness in the sky in your shot…
    and I am on the hunt officially now…
    (…look out for shapes, tones, patterns or textures) thx

  4. Gorgeous! Thanks so much for the link up Jude 🙂 Also for for the great tips for the B&W Bench Challenge 🙂 Love your photo, it speaks volumes, so evocative…

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

