Bench series #4

Final week on the Garden theme so if you want to join in this month with your garden bench you have until next Saturday to post your photos 🙂

logan botanic garden (2)

Not one, but three benches this week in a lovely garden in Dumfries and Galloway, southern Scotland. Logan Botanical Garden is one of the most beautiful and interesting gardens in the UK and not what you would expect to find so far north. If you want to see more then please click on the link above.

And if you like the idea of a ‘Bench’ photo challenge then take a look at my Bench Series page for details of how to join in.

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: January
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in February

I look forward to resting my feet all around the world!

Last week I was taken to some lovely gardens:

Sylvia visits Edison Heritage Gardens in Fort Myers
Daily Musings takes us to The Lois Blonder Sculpture Garden
Aletta shows us a curved bench in KwaZulu Natal, South Africa

Pauline is sitting amongst the peace lilies this week in Townsville
Cathy has several benches in a seaside garden in New Zealand

and there is a charming drawing and poem from ladysighs
and a bench that had to be re-built by Jennifer.
Priorhouse blog on the other hand combines benches with a story. With a bench in it, of course!
Debbie finds a tranquil spot in Paris.
and Julia has one with a tribute.
Elaine joins in with a couple of gardens bringing back memories of summer!
and you can sit and smell the lavender from this pretty bench from Dawn.
Finally a serene bench with Spanish moss dripping above from Isadora.

Thank you all for joining in this week.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

50 thoughts on “Bench series #4”

      1. thanks for the heads up – and seriously, because I have not done very many b & w pics – and I have come to realize that not all images are easily transformed to b & w – hmmmm
        have a great day

        1. okay cool – will you be making a post with the tips? I will keep checking back. For some reason I am missing a lot of my blog friends by the way I only reply on the reader, I am looking for a new way to keep up. hmmm

  1. Great benches. On walks they are always most welcome. One can never have enough benches. Even judges need benches. ‘When might you be appointed to the bench?’ Of course there are chairs too. ‘He/she took the chair at Microsoft,’ does not mean someone stole a chair.

  2. I like the 35mm edging effect Jude.
    My favourite was the tribute bench, as I love to read the plates fixed to them. I am not so sure about the sculpture garden in New Jersey, as the ‘hanging irons’ (of Babylon?) was not something I would sit and admire.
    Lots of entries this week, and a popular theme obviously. Great stuff!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  3. I just finished sitting on all the benches in the lovely gardens showcased above. Time to get up and get on about my blogging business. Looking forward to the Black and White. 🙂

  4. Beautiful- there is something very moving about benches- thinking of all the people who have rested there awhile. The bench imbibes their feelings and captures the moment. I love your theme and will try to connect with it x

    1. I love those with plaques dedicated to people who did just that, sat and enjoyed the view. You sit and look and think, yes, I understand why they loved this spot.

  5. Black and white tips will be useful, Jude. I can only think in colour 🙂

    Your page looks so very professional. I love it! I did find myself looking at London benches (as I galloped past! They’re for sitting on? Really?)

  6. More lovely benches Jude and just what I need to see this Monday morning…some light relief. I’ve linked to you with my ‘Bench Series’ post, a perfect way to kickstart the week after last week’s trials (won’t repeat myself, computer related, but back now and mega catching up to do…) and went with my own garden. Photos not the best but I’m proud of my old, beaten up, well-travelled bench. hope you like :-). Thanks for this fun challenge, I can see I’ll have to wade through my photos in readiness for the next one 😉 xx

      1. Ahh…thanks Jude! Yes, it does hold so many, happy memories for me. I left a lot of things behind in CA but my bench was not one of them 🙂 xx

    1. Thank you Debbie! Can you add the tag ‘bench series’ so that your posts show up in the WP Reader (by selecting bench series) makes it so much easier to follow all these posts 🙂
      (Something I only recently learned!!)

    1. That is one cool shot! I would like to link this to my black & white month if that’s OK as it really fits in with the theme. I used a focal / blur on this image but not actually the tilt shift effect, though I can see it is almost the same. Thanks for joining in with your great bench!
      Jude xx

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

