Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons #1

The Cardinal has decided to have a photo project going throughout 2015 – a blogging event, a monthly photo challenge. Find a location near your home, take somewhere between 5-20 photos and post them in a gallery in your blog. Continue to do this every month. The idea is to capture all the changes: the seasons, the weather, different times of the day, some night photography perhaps?

DSCF0374

Sounds right up my street and I shall be interested to record the changes in my neighbourhood. Some of these locations have been posted before, but this is a circular route from my front door around the River Teme, taking in the castle, some interesting houses, trees on Whitcliffe Common and some of the floral offerings on Ludlow’s streets.

DSCF0376

Date: January 19 2015
Weather: sunshine and cloud
Temperature: Cold (2°C)
Time: 2 – 3 pm

DSCF0375After taking some photos around the castle garden on Dinham with the pollarded lime trees, it’s time to walk down to Dinham Bridge and capture a few shots of the castle and the river which is in full spate after the rain in Wales.

Continue along the Breadwalk, taking great care as the path is frozen at this point and notice the Donkey Steps to the left. Swans feed at the edges and naked trees are reflected in the water.

DSCF0454

Leaving the river behind, my final stretch is along Lower Broad Street where the lack of outside space does not prevent the owners of the ancient cottages from displaying one of the towns best ‘gardens’.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

39 thoughts on “Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons #1”

  1. Good old Ludlow! No matter how many times I see your photo-tours of the town, they are always enjoyable. You still have some lush bracken there Jude, must be all that Welsh rain. And the river looks a bit high…
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I was surprised to see the bracken so green Pete, most of it is brown and wet and horrible! Bitterly cold though… I shall be glad when it warms up a bit.

  2. the challenge sounds cool – and I like your photos – and never saw lime trees like that. oh and I have also enjoyed seeing so many of the bench posts going around for your challenge and I think I have an enter for it this week…
    peace

    1. I look forward to seeing what others choose for the challenge, though at the moment I don’t seem to have a minute to go browsing blogs as much as I’d like to! Please join in with the bench challenge – gardens runs all through January and then it is black & white.
      Thanks Yvette 🙂

      1. well that is the nice thing about doing a monthly challenge – you can take your time and visit when you have the chance – and mine is not going anywhere so take your time 🙂

    1. I have captured this town through the seasons for three years now, but it will be good to capture the same route over a year and see exactly how it changes.

  3. A wonderful challenge for you Jude, and you’ve kicked it off in great style. What a beautiful walk from your front door, goodness, you live in such a lovely place 🙂

  4. This is a brilliant challenge for you Jude. I shall look forward to seeing what you do over the seasons with this. Great shots here of your town -I love those pollarded limes.

  5. What an interesting challenge Jude. You live in a very photographic area and I noticed you managed to sneak in a couple of benches, I think they are becoming your trade mark… Will look forward to spring gradually transforming those poor mutilated lime trees…

  6. I think you’ve done this walk for me before, Jude 🙂 How’s the ankle, by the way?
    It does seem to be busying up around the blogs, doesn’t it? Time Thief must be at it again 🙂
    More to the point, I absolutely love the header photo! You could frame that for me for Christmas 🙂

    1. I seem to be spending all my time on the blogs at the moment Jo – the bench challenge seems to have taken off (though it may well calm down after this month) and my recent posts have attracted loads of likes and comments! There are other things I must get on with though!

      I have done bits of this walk in several guises for you and Cee’s challenge, but usually in the other direction. Hopefully I’ll be able to track the changes this year, though I am hoping we might get to move before the end of it!

      Foot still painful; I think it is Achilles tendinitis 😦

  7. This is such an interesting project and the photos of Ludlow are so beautiful. Somehow I don’t think I’d ever get tired of looking at the castle 🙂 The very last photo of the tree silhouetted against the moody sky is gorgeous.
    Looking forward to seeing the changes in season!

      1. I went over to the Cardinal’s site and looked at his photos of Oslo. I love the idea of joining in the challenge … it will be so interesting to see the changes.
        I’ll have to get out asap … after I ponder ‘where’ exactly I’m going to focus my attention. Ideally it will be somewhere reasonably easy to get to each month!

        1. I loved the 24 hour challenge and had so much fun with it.

          After a bit of thought, I selected my ‘target’ area for this challenge and went out this afternoon. I’m quite happy with the result and I’m excited to post them.

          Thank you so much!!! 🙂

  8. Wow! What an excellent area for this challenge: nature, buildings, city streets, river, a park and even a castle (!!). Amazing diversity! I love this area.
    Thanks for joining the challenge. I’m looking forward to see more.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

