Bench series #3

Still on the Garden theme:

Walmer castle
Walmer Castle, Kent

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then take a look at my Bench Series page where you will find everything you want to know (haha if only…)

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: January
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in February

I look forward to resting my feet all around the world!

Have a look at Sydney’s Botanic Garden with Elizabeth
Debbie takes us to Kew Gardens in London
Pauline shows us all the benches in her beautiful rainforest garden.
Gilly is relaxing in Penshurst Place on a beautiful summers day.
Ailsa shows us a very unusual bench in the green of a lawn in Charlston
and Meg shows us one complete with a cow!

Thanks folks for joining in so I don’t feel like “Billy no-mates”

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

54 thoughts on “Bench series #3”

  1. I had a walk around Walmer Castle last September, but I didn’t sit on that bench Jude. Looks like a good one, nice and solid. The Joggling Board bench is certainly unusual. As for Kew, it might be good value at £9.50, but I remember when you used to put an old penny in a turnstile to get in!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. Lovely bench, I like all the warm colour tones, even the bears breeches match. That looks like an interesting building as well.
    February’s black and white entry will need some good contrasts, I’d better start looking 🙂

    1. Now why didn’t I know that was the common name for Acanthus mollis? It’s a fab plant!

      And Walmer Castle is very interesting, it was the official residence of the Lord Warden of the Cinque Ports and The Duke of Wellington spent many years there. And more recently the Queen Mother used to like visiting. The building was built by Henry VIII in 1539–1540 as an artillery fortress which may explain the unusual shape.

    1. Nice one Pauline. Now I have read this properly I see the garden is in Townsville. And I have BEEN to Townsville too!! But sadly not to the garden 😦

        1. I wasn’t as obsessed with gardens at the time of my visit as I still had one of my own. The obsession came later. I will go and have a wander through your post. Thanks PP 🙂

        2. Gardens are obsessive, both when you have one of your own and looking at other peoples… Any closer to finding that place to call home yet Jude?

    1. Thanks Debbie, I shall visit your garden in a short while. Just need to get a cup of coffee first 🙂 Then I can sit on one of the benches and absorb my surroundings.

  3. well I am in for this well – going topmost it in a little bit (after coffee) be back – and Jude – I have really enjoyed this series going around the blogosphere – made me realize how nice benches are! 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

