Bench series #1

For some time now I have been photographing benches when I come across them. I like benches. I especially like them when they are placed in a convenient position, like half way up a hill, or on the top of a cliff, preferably with a view. Some benches have plaques, some have slats, some are made of wood, some are good (to sit on). So for the next year, as a new feature, I am going to post a photo of a bench/seat each week. So you can take the weight of your feet and relax and breathe…

This one comes with a lovely view of the garden.

abbotsbury garden
Lutyens Seat in Abbotsbury Sub-tropical Garden (Dorset)
Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

64 thoughts on “Bench series #1”

  1. I must admit to having a soft spot for a bench or two, Jude, so I shall be looking forward to these. BTW, if I’m not mistaken I reckon that first one is from Claremont Landscape Garden…. 😀

  2. Ah! Abbotsbury! Isn’t that where all the swans are? Benches are rather interesting. Its a good theme. I vaguely remember someone published an entire collection of bench photos as a project. I was amazed at the number of ways in which a bench could be interpreted. I shall follow with interest.

    1. The swannery is a mile or so away from the garden, you can see it from the high point, but we didn’t visit it. I’m afraid my interpretations will be much more prosaic as I try to include the setting as much as the bench itself. Anyway, it will be interesting to hear what you think about them… 🙂

  3. New year- new theme Jude? At least the font is bigger, good for these ageing eyes.
    I was on a bench only yesterday, albeit rather a damp one, next to the river at Beetley Meadows. I will look forward to your bench posts very much.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Yup! New theme, not sure I like it, but we shall see. It is difficult finding one that is good for photography AND words without being very cluttered. I aim to simplify my life this year starting with the blog 😀

  4. Add me to the list of people looking forward to this series. I too am very partial to benches. Although in my travels I rarely take advantage of them, it’s always interesting to see where someone has thought to place a bench and the variations of style.

    I love the spiky cactus-type plant in the foreground. It really sets the tone for the location 🙂

    1. I do try to photograph my benches to show their best ‘side’ but it is not always that simple. I mean, do I show the bench or the view from the bench? Anyway, I hope you enjoy my interpretations 🙂

  5. Excellent choice for all us fellow bench lovers, Jude – I rarely see a bench I don’t want to ‘warm’ for a bit. I even took some bench photos last year – now to dig them out!!

    I like your theme. Simple but energizing😊

    1. Thanks Sammy, I like to change the theme, though not too often and I always felt the other one was a bit too cluttered for showing off photos. Not sure if I’ll keep this one, but for now the yellow is cheering me up on a somewhat grey and foggy day.

  6. I love the idea of a series and I’ll be following with interest. I know what you mean about benches. They are always welcome when I’m on a long walk especially if it’s uphill.

    How did you get the font to be bigger here? Is it the theme or did you do something clever? On my blog the font has suddenly become much smaller and I can’t figure out how to change it.

    1. Seems benches are everybody’s favourite! I’m always happy to see one and test it out 🙂

      The font is what comes with the theme, I’m not sure if it isn’t too big. But I think it changes depending on the device you use so on my laptop with a big screen it is very large.

        1. No, not on either of my blogs, but the font size has changed on both. And the weird thing is that sometimes it’s bigger and then the next post is small. It must be something in my settings. I do create my text in a Word document and copy and paste it to my dashboard, which I’ve always done, and this size problem has only just started recently. So I don’t know if writing in Word first is part of the problem.

        2. Do you paste ‘AS TEXT’ ? Otherwise some elements from Word may be transferred (check the HTML), but if you have always done it this way I can’t understand why it should suddenly change. Then again, WP is always changing the way things operate.

        3. I paste it into Visual. I am still using classic mode and I wonder if it’s being made a little difficult so that I am forced to change to the new posting style. I found the new one quite difficult to use so I gave up. Who knows…

          I’m working on a post right now and it is coming up the right size.

        4. Huh! I don’t like the new posting screen either. It seems less intuitive than the classic one! But everything today is being aimed at people with smart devices, not people who still use computers and proper laptops!

      1. Oops!
        BTW, I’ve contributed my first walk to Jo’s Monday Walks, having come across the site via your own walks. Mine is also in the Blue Mountains, close to where your recent walk was.

  7. New theme and all – it’s definitely a new year for Jude the Non-obscure !!
    Lovely stuff, mate ! 🙂

  8. There are so many of us bench lovers – you’ve hit on a good topic for a series here. I could sit on this first one for a long time!

    Maybe you should open this topic up as a challenge – you’ve had tremendous feedback

  9. That is such a serene and relaxing looking bench to start off with. I think the idea of benches is a great one Jude, it seems so many of us have bench photos tucked away on our hard drives. I would love to join you if you start a weekly or monthly challenge…

  10. Ahh…I know Abbotsbury! I did a post about the Swannery, hubby and I took a visit there on their last day of opening in November. I have been before in the summer when the chicks are hatching but never in the winter, and he had never been. I think you were away when I posted it. Anyway, I’ve yet to make the gardens, but it is on the agenda for this year. And you know how much I love benches. This is a lovely photo to remind me of summer and stopping to relax and unwind… 🙂

    1. Hi Sherri! The garden is well worth a visit – we were there in October and it was still nice, but I imagine in June it is probably at its best with the borders flowering. It’s also good just for a nice walk. And plenty of benches 🙂

  11. How did I miss this??? The advent of a challenge, cheered on by Mrs. M 🙂 And if all those people who’ve commented come up trumps you’ll have your hands full, Jude! But once a month is a good idea. I so love your snazzy new look 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

