Pilsdon Pen

DSCF4225

Like a lot of things in life finding Pilsdon Pen was a fluke. We were driving back to Bridport in Dorset after visiting Lyme Regis and me being, well, me, decided to return via the country roads instead of the direct route. Admiring the views surreptitiously as I was driving along the narrow winding road, it was a relief to find a layby to pull into. Obviously a spot with a view as there were already a couple of cars parked there.

DSCF4227

The panorama was spectacular, rolling hills, cliffs and in the distance, the sea. After taking a few photos, I headed across the road to a stile that I had spied which led to a path up a hill. Thinking that I might get even better views from the hill, I hopped over the stile.

DSCF4235

And found that I was on Pilsdon Pen, the highest point in Dorset.

DSCF4237So of course I had to climb to the top, and after a bit of huffing and puffing and a stop or two at a conveniently placed bench, I got to see the 360 degree views.

And I was particularly fascinated by the late afternoon shadows of the trees bordering that field.

shadows

 Serendipity 🙂

If you enjoy a walk, short or long, then you may enjoy visiting Jo’s Monday Walk where you are in for a treat.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

57 thoughts on “Pilsdon Pen”

  1. Those photos of the patchwork quilt fields stretching way into the distance to me say “England” beautiful photos Jude. I’m pleased they had put some benches to stop, sit and enjoy the view, my sort of walk these days…

  2. I never think of Dorset as hilly. What a lovely surprise. I think I might wheeze my way to the top for views like that. Not many houses. The HK developers could fix the for you. 😉

    1. It seems a lot hillier than it did when I was a kid! And you are right, from up there it was hard to see any urbanisation at all. A very rural county. And the HK developers can stay well away, thank you 😯

  3. See what happens when you meander down country roads? 🙂 I always much prefer that, too, but with Mick at the wheel it doesn’t happen so often. He’s a ‘let’s get there’ man, but maybe I would be too if I had to drive. We do meander delightfully in the Algarve though. Different mindset for him. Wonder why that is 🙂
    You know I’d have been off and scrambling too, Jude! That would once have been a fine hill fort. (just before my time) Many thanks for the link.

    1. Ah, well I AM the driver, so OH has to go where I go, though I think sometimes HE would like to go the quickest route, he didn’t even attempt to come up here with me, I’m afraid his ‘get up and go’ has ‘got up and gone’ 😦

      BTW have you seen Cathy’s post? She’s a bit down, bless her, and needs some hugs.

    1. Isn’t it just? I was hoping for some tinges of red and orange from up there, but apart from the berries on the Rowan tree at the top it all looked like a summer’s day!

    1. I was determined to get to the top, which wasn’t very far actually, just a bit steep at the end, otherwise I’d have been always wondering what I’d missed!

  4. Jude I stop in that lay by every time I drive the A35 – about once a month on the way home from my daughter’s in Hampshire! It’s a view that makes me cry, it’s so beautiful. Sometimes just before dusk it positively shines!

        1. And actually I ought to have guessed from your surname, but then it could be a married name, and there are a lot of Scots living all over the world.

  5. An Iron Age hill fort ? – crumbs, Jude ! – how lucky are you to live where you can find one of those ? Not to mention the beauty all around … I can’t think what I’d give to live where tradition of millennia surrounded me …

    1. There are a lot of them around here too M-R. In fact if the postie arrives early enough with an expected delivery I am hoping to head off to one today. That’s if the wind doesn’t blow me away first 😉

  6. See…you come to my part of the world and even there you discover places I’ve never heard of! Now I must tell hubby about Pilsdon Pen, what a beautiful place to walk and those views stunning. Thanks for sharing this great find Jude…you have such a knack for these wonderful discoveries 🙂 xx

    1. Pure fluke Sherri! And if I hadn’t spotted that stile across the road I wouldn’t have found it. It would be nice to walk right across the top to the fort entrance. The OH was waiting in the car so I didn’t want to be too long.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

