Reculver Towers and Roman Fort

It was a cold, grey day in June when I ventured out to the North Kent coast to visit a building that had intrigued me when I first glimpsed it in the distance from Herne Bay a few years ago. Twin towers that looked as though they rose from the sea itself.

DSCF0485

An imposing landmark, the twin 12th-century towers of the ruined church stand amid the remains of an important Roman ‘Saxon Shore’ fort and a Saxon monastery.

DSCF0486

It wasn’t always on the beach – coastal erosion has caused much of this site to be lost to the sea, so if you want to visit I suggest you don’t leave it too long.

From the car park it is a very short walk to the site ruins, but you can continue to walk along the coast through the Reculver Country Park to Herne Bay (west) along the Wantsum Way, or towards Margate (east). Given the blustery, wet weather I’m afraid I didn’t venture too far along this coastal path, but in sunnier weather I imagine it is a very nice place to walk or cycle in.

Looking West

DSCF0496

DSCF0525

DSCF0533You can see the path leading away on the left-hand side, but this promenade obviously wasn’t the best route forward. I was constantly wiping the camera lens already!

DSCF0552If you enjoy a walk, short or long, then you may enjoy visiting Jo’s Monday Walk where you are in for a treat.

 

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

21 thoughts on “Reculver Towers and Roman Fort”

  1. A great place to visit indeed Jude. As you know, I was in the area recently, but didn’t get there on that occasion, though I have been in the past. Your advice about coastal erosion is timely, and should be taken!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. What a fascinating juxtaposition in your photos showing the ‘modern’ towers backed by two far more ancient remnants of towers. Out of all the structures you’ve shown, I’d like to visit this one most. How sad we will eventually lose it to the sea. The cold, bluster and forces of nature are certainly dominant in your photos. Great job making me feel that wind. Brrrrrrrrrrr

  3. WONDERFUL, Jude ! – but so sad that it won’t be there much longer. Especially in this time of climate change, the sea is swallowing what it will, as fast as it can. And there’s nothing to be done about it.
    I can say only that the unappealing weather didn’t stop you from producing one of your trademark ‘rambles’ – ain’t seen one that hasn’t been terrific !

  4. Jude I am feeling rather chilly looking at these photos. As always your variety of angles and perspectives in the galleries helps me to consider ways to approach such large buildings. That’s quite the danger sign!

  5. I love the details and the colours in the first gallery – the suddenness of the orange stones,and that splendid arch of stone. I was also charmed by the triangle of uncut grass in the last shot. Thanks for taking me to Reculver Towers.

  6. I seem to remember you saying when you were in Kent the weather wasn’t very good but I’m glad you still got out and about to give us your interesting posts 🙂 You got some wonderful photos out of it as always. Love the fort, the wild sea and the pretty flowers. This is a part of the world I don’t know at all.

  7. So glad I’ve got you covering this bit of the world for me, Jude! Not much prospect of me getting down this way, though this is very much my kind of walk. Whooshy water- maybe a little warmer would be good. 🙂
    Sorry I didn’t find you sooner. I did check for a post because you said there was one. Deaf, dumb and blind! Cheers anyway 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

