One Day One World Project: 08:00 – 09:00

The Bells of Ludlow

St Laurence Church

Oh, come you home of Sunday,
When Ludlow streets are still
And Ludlow bells are calling
To farm and lane and mill,

Or come you home of Monday
When Ludlow market hums
And Ludlow chimes are playing
‘The conquering hero comes’

~ partial from The Recruit. A. E. Housman (1859–1936).  A Shropshire Lad.  1896.

The tower of St Laurence’s contains one of the finest rings of 10 bells in the country.  The bells are rung in two distinct ways: by the bell ringers on Sundays and practice evenings; and by the church clock which is controlled electronically and chimes tunes four times a day. The clock chimes a different tune for each day of the week and it plays the tunes at 8am, 12pm, 4pm and 8pm.

Shaun Ward, clerk of works at St Laurence’s said  “The clock tells people to go to work, have their lunch, have a break, go home and go to bed.”

Lisa of the blog NorthWest Frame of Mind has decided to run a different project over the next 24 weeks. To try to show what is happening in different parts of the world (if you all join in) at a particular time of day. If you would like to participate you have until next Saturday midnight to post a photo or write about what is happening in your part of the world.   This week is between 08:00 – 09:00.  I hope you’ll join in! See links for more details.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

31 thoughts on “One Day One World Project: 08:00 – 09:00”

  1. The bells are magnificent! 🙂 Great idea to have four different tunes during the day, the10 bells certainly deserved this fine tribute, Jude.
    Best regards, Dina

    1. I have wanted to work in a post about the bells, and this time slot seemed appropriate. The beginning of the day. I must say I haven’t noticed that there are different tunes for each day. I shall have to listen more attentively!

        1. That’s the ten bells rung by the bell-ringers! It is very loud! The carillon plays a different tune each day but is much quieter. If you click on the link you can listen to the different tunes for each day. I’ll check tomorrow that it really is Tuesday 😉

        1. Oops! This is what we have to endure (should have used it for that challenge too) EVERY Sunday – and often on Saturday too if there is a wedding. The other tunes are much gentler on the ears 🙂

    1. It does go on a bit at the weekend though, but I do like listening to the tunes during the day – must listen more closely though as I hadn’t realised that the same tune was played throughout the day and each day is different.

  2. Awesome bells. I miss hearing Sunday bells. No-one rings them around these parts anymore. Of course, I would never have stood them if I lived next door or across the street. Farther away, they’re lovely. 😛

  3. I’m glad they aren’t too loud, Jude but what a wonderful soundtrack to daily life in Ludlow. We don’t have regular church bells here but I always know if it is a misty morning before I get up when the Ferry’s fog horns blow every 30 minutes.

  4. Very sneaky! You didn’t actually have to get out of bed at 8 to record those bells 🙂 But at least you’re staying with the challenge, which is more than can be said for me.

    1. Well, there’s nothing in the ‘rules’ about having to get out of bed – just post what happens at that time of day! This does happen every day here at 8 o’clock… I’m just exercising the blogging licence 😀 😀

    2. It’s been a tough project and I wish I’d managed the whole 24 hours, but I missed 3 – 4 and 4 – 5. Not my time of day I’m afraid. Hope the rest will be pretty smooth though 🙂

  5. A rich stew of poetry, music and your incomparable photos. My acquaintance with church bells is minimal: the Dorothy Sayers novel and a visit to a belfry in Canberra when my friend was a bell ringer at St Johns a lifetime ago.

  6. Jude how wonderful it must be to hear the different tunes. Your photo of the church gives great perspective of the building and again I am thankful for the teaching you do via sharing your photos.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

