One Day One World Project: 07:00 – 08:00

6:47 AM

Sunrise in West Midlands, UK

I have been wanting to get up and take a photograph of the sunrise this week, but the weather has not been playing ball. Each morning that I have struggled to be awake this early (and those of you who have read my previous post for this project will understand that I am so NOT a morning person) it has been misty and the sky a total white-out. Not even a glimmer of colour in the east.

P1170849

As we are coming to the end of this time-frame, and I am already awake, I’m going to show you a bit of the area behind my house as well as the usual glimpse of in front. I live in a very quiet area in the old town of Ludlow and surrounded by quite a few holiday homes, so a lot of the time the houses nearby are empty.

At the back
At the back and not many straight lines here

Until a year ago there was a fully functioning pub to the left of me which was run by the Royal British Legion and the home of the Royal Antediluvian Order of BuffaloesLodge and things weren’t always quite as quiet then what with live music and noisy punters; talking (why do people talk so much louder when drinking alcohol? An interesting correlation between the volume of liquid consumed and volume of speech), arguing and sometimes screaming, who were outside in the smoking zone that was practically beneath my bedroom window – that wasn’t great. But there was also a well-tended allotment with runner beans, cabbages, onions etc. and a sweet little home-made lean-to potting shed against the red-brick wall which was rather nice. Sadly this year with the closure of the pub the allotment has been unused and nature has taken over. This has meant poppies have flourished and all matter of weeds wild-flowers have grown.

When I started entering this project it was May and the blossom was just beginning and it was the time of the Spring Fair, now it is autumn and colours are fading and we have just had the Autumn Food Festival – where has the summer gone?

Lisa of the blog NorthWest Frame of Mind has decided to run a different project over the next 24 weeks. To try to show what is happening in different parts of the world (if you all join in) at a particular time of day. If you would like to participate you have until next Saturday midnight to post a photo or write about what is happening in your part of the world.   This week is between 07:00 – 08:00.  I hope you’ll join in! See links for more details.

Only a few more hours left!

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

34 thoughts on “One Day One World Project: 07:00 – 08:00”

  1. Good old Ludlow, it always keeps on giving. We have had that misty grey sky every morning as well. Like you, I am not great in the mornings, so it is usually after 08.30 when I get to see what the day has in store!
    I think that the overgrown plot is a nicer outlook than smoking Buffaloes anyway…
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I had a chuckle at the image of smoking buffaloes! But, yes it has been much nicer since the pub closed. I think Ludlow may give me a few more posts, but I’m really getting itchy for a new place to explore.

  2. Things do tend to get a bit raggedy in the fall as all the vegetation starts to fade. Was the allotment managed by the pub? Is that why it’s not used anymore? Seems like such a shame.
    Love the pictures from your corner of the world 🙂

    1. I guess the allotment was looked after by the pub, I’d like to have that plot of land for myself as I don’t have a garden, it is so frustrating looking at it in its unkempt state.

  3. I did gain the impression that early mornings and you aren’t the closest of mates, Jude ! But this is a delightful take, anyway – and I am PLEASED the drunks are no longer there to … ahh … entertain you.

  4. Bad luck with the morning light, or rather, lack of it Jude….I used to be a morning person, but no longer so I’m on your page. Are you still thinking of Cornwall?

    1. Well it is reaching the time that I am happy to get up for a sunrise 😉 but still under a cloud here today.

      We are heading for a week in Dorset soon just for a look, as that would be nearer to the family. I do have a soft spot for the remoteness of Cornwall though.

        1. North Norfolk is another of my favourites too, but also expensive! And I’d have to drive around London to get to see family so it’s not ideal. Too many lovely places in the UK makes the decision to move very difficult.

        2. The interior probably isn’t, but then you have the same old problem of villages without amenities or public transport (necessary). The north coast where I’d like to be is very expensive. £300k for a one bedroomed cottage. Cromer may be more affordable. We’ll see what we think of Dorset then a decision has to be made. Unfortunately we are too old for a mortgage so funds are limited.

        3. I, too am in a similar predicament, and I cannot be without public transport or amenities and am priced out of the area where I currently reside….what to do? It is stressing me out

  5. You give a lovely sense of the passing of time, both seasonal and … historical(?) I’m a bit intrigued by the way you link of the passing of the season to the passage of twenty four hours. I like the ordinariness of this post – a change from the grandeur of gardens, flowers and castles, a pleasant modulation. And rooftops and chimney pots are always charmers for me.

    Maybe I should emulate you in reverse and push myself to stay up later!

    1. It has been interesting looking at 24 hours spaced over 24 weeks. Although not all my posts have been local, most have, and I have liked seeing how life in this lovely town changes throughout the summer. Not many more hours to go now, and I have a couple of fun posts. The final one will probably be from somewhere else though 🙂

  6. I like the idea of following the clock around the world Jude. Your area does look peaceful and lovely for you now the pub has closed but what a waste of the garden, but it does look beautiful and rustic, I’m surprised some one hasn’t made a submission to the powers that be to start a community garden. They are quite the in thing over here.
    When do you get to Australia?

    1. I presume the land belongs to the pub so is privately owned. I can’t access it from my house even though I overlook it, otherwise I may have been tempted to use it! I arrive in Oz at the beginning of November – just in time to escape the damp and fog!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

