Travel Theme: Orange

Orange is the colour of saffron, pumpkins and apricots. It is between red and yellow on the spectrum of light, and in the traditional colour wheel used by painters. Its name is derived from the orange fruit.

In traditional colour theory, orange is a range of colours between red and yellow

Kleurenovergang van rood naar geel.png
Kleurenovergang van rood naar geel” by Original uploader was Wilinckx at nl.wikipedia. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

Van Gogh
Van Gogh

I hope this has brightened up your day 🙂

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

49 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Orange”

    1. He’s from Scotland Pete. First one I have seen too. I have so many orange photos it was difficult to select just a few. Glad you like them 🙂

  1. Definitely brightened my day! You’ve chosen such a variety of images, and I get the feeling that you could have chosen from hundreds of others. I’m curious about how you curate your photos – mine are a dog’s (or twins) breakfast. Tracking down images for a challenge would be a major undertaking. Just lucky with orange.

    1. I keep thinking of others I could have used. My photos are just filed in folders Meg. No keywords or anything like that to search on so I just rely on memory to look in a folder where I think a suitable image can be found. My mission is to sort out our digital photos and just keep the best 50 or so from each place. But I have been doing this since 2008 and I don’t seem too get any further!

      1. At least you go back to them. I don’t know that I ever do. I’m trying to reduce my current 2000 from my recent three months away before I transfer to pc. I’ve got to learn to trash trashy twin ones. Trash not such a problem elsewhere!

  2. How can orange not brighten up your day.
    The colour orange was named after the fruit? I’ve learned something this morning. I thought some unimaginative botanist had named the fruit after the colour. 🙂

    1. I’m really just a happy snapper Sue 🙂 Apart from flowers (of which I have millions) I hadn’t realised just how many orange photos I have until looking through the digital shoebox for inspiration.

    1. I didn’t know how I could use this image Kathryn until this challenge came along. He apparently used a blue background especially to contrast with his orange beard. Works well. And yes, go visit the museum.

    1. Thanks for reminding me about that one! I have quite a lot of orange images that I remembered after I posted this gallery – oh, well, there will probably be another time 🙂

  3. It certainly has brightened my day Jude, and I need it because, after being spoilt with weeks of clear sunny skies, a bit cool but the sun always makes it feel warmer, the last 2 days have turned to grey skies and drizzle. I really thought winter had gone.

    1. Sounds like the weather here! Summer has suddenly disappeared, such a shame, I really enjoyed the sunny days and long light evenings. Oh, well, can hope for an Indian Summer I suppose 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

