Contre-jour

Contre-jour

produces backlighting of the subject. This effect usually hides details, causes a stronger contrast between light and dark, creates silhouettes and emphasizes lines and shapes. The sun, or other light source, is often seen as either a bright spot or as a strong glare behind the subject.

Entrance to the Pyramid - Louvre a

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

37 thoughts on “Contre-jour”

  1. I’m running out of words with which to relish your photos. If I try to look though and out, I get something very washed out. You don’t. There are so many strengths in the second photo – the framing; the figures; the warm colours of the pavement; and then the shape of the prism, with buildings and trees faint behind it.

    1. To be honest Meg that photo IS washed out in the background when you look and see what the sky was doing in the top image, but I was actually photographing the warmth of the paving and the arch – only later did I realise how nice the figures looked against that light. I really appreciate your comments Meg, and the fact that you do actually take time to consider each photograph – that means a lot to me.

      1. Thank you for the challenge to do more than “like”. That demands closer perusal, and therefore far more pleasure, to say nothing of the connections it enables. Without the to-and-fro of comment and reply I’d have missed out on the chance to get to know you, which is something I value very much.

        This article is very a propos!

        View story at Medium.com

        1. Ditto! I don’t ‘follow’ too many people even though there are a lot of blogs that I do enjoy, because I want to be able to comment rather than just ‘like’ a post, although I have liked when I simply don’t have the time to make a comment. Obviously reading posts properly does take up a lot more time, but the bonus is that you do get to form friendships and start to really know people. Funny you should post that link, my OH was just telling me about the other survey by the chap who did nothing but like for two days! I shall have a read 🙂

    1. But it is ALWAYS nice to receive a comment from you M-R – praise is very welcome but I’m open to constructive criticism too, only way to get better!

      1. I’m not in a position to cricitise photography. Oh, with two exceptions (neither of which applies to your output):
        (1) far too much contrast in B&W, so that you can see scarcely any detail – why anyone does this is simply beyond my comprehension, but they do !
        (2) far too much attention paid to rendering fx in a variety of post-production softwares

        1. That’s to achieve a specific effect, Jude … not done as part of a kind of dedicated and continuing effort.

    1. I have never been to Paris in the summer time, but I imagine it is a city that is rarely quiet. I’d like to go in the autumn, but fear it would be wet and grey.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

