A Heavenly Highway…

A rainbow is an optical and meteorological phenomenon that is caused by both reflection and refraction of light in water droplets resulting in a spectrum of light appearing in the sky.
rainbow-path-1

In a double rainbow, a second arc is seen outside the primary arc, and has the order of its colours reversed, red facing toward the other one, in both rainbows. Between the two bows lies an area of unlit sky referred to as Alexander’s band.

rainbow-path-2

rainbow

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

50 thoughts on “A Heavenly Highway…”

    1. Quite astonishing – just happened to catch sight of it around 7:30 yesterday evening. The pathway was so dramatic. Wish I could have got somewhere to get a photo of the whole rainbow, but it didn’t last long.

  1. I’ll never forget seeing my first double rainbow; it stopped me in my tracks!! They are very special and yours is so vibrant – strong, positive message from the heavens!

    1. I have seen them from a distance but this was right outside the door and as you say, very vibrant, I don’t think I have seen such a distinct band before.

    1. Quite unexpected! I like your moon photos – I should have got the tripod out last night as it was pretty amazing over here too. Slipping behind clouds and creating extraordinary colours.

  2. Oh, what a BEAUTY, Jude – AND a double !!! How magic that you were there with your camera … or was it your smartphone ?
    Never mind: it’s glorious !

    1. It happened right outside my house – I caught sight of it through the lounge window and rushed to capture it on my camera, which is always by my side! Smart Phone? What’s one of those then? 😉

  3. Fabulous, Jude! What a wonderful sight, your images are stunning. Did you see Sunday’s moon? I was driving at the time, would have loved a shot. By the time I got home, I didn’t have such a good view!

    1. The moon was very bright, but I can’t see it rise from my house so it was well up in the sky. Lots of interesting colours from behind the clouds. Have to use a tripod to capture that though and a very long zoom!

      1. Well, yes, and I don’t have the long zoom….but I think one could have got the effect of the size the other day against houses etc…

        1. By the time I could see it it was well above the houses and therefore looked quite normal in size – very bright though. I like the September harvest moon when it is almost orange.

    1. I have seen some very dramatic and vibrant rainbows since moving here, but this was the first really distinct double (sometimes see that faint second bow) and the space between them really did look like a highway.

  4. Wonderful clarity in these photos – and a double rainbow indeed! The roofs cape gave me as much pleasure as the rainbow, as I sit up in bed after my return home and sleeping around two clocks. Now to restore my loyalties to Potato Point, with the blessing of a rainbow.

    1. Thank you Meg – I take it you had a safe journey home? Relax and take it easy for a while to get over that horrid jet-lag. Then you can go exploring with your camera. Rainbows are supposedly lucky signs for me (don’t ask me where I got that from) and I remember seeing several glorious rainbows from the train on my way to a job in the Norwegian fjords when I was 19 yrs old, and thinking, YES, this is going to be a GOOD decision!

  5. Double rainbows are SO incredible. I’ve only ever seen one and got a decent photo of it but it’s kind of like potato chips-one is never enough! Thanks for sharing yours Jude – it looks beautiful!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

