Containers

DSCF0723

Immediately I read the word ‘container‘ I think of plants – in pots. As someone who only has a container ‘garden‘ I am always on the lookout for ways in which to grow such plants and the type of containers used. A glasshouse, is of course, a container too since its job is to contain plants that otherwise would not survive outdoors.

 Old Terracotta Pots are my favourite

DSCF1332

and in some gardens you find ornate urns which would suit the style of my home, but sadly they are too big

DSCF2288

Plastic pots and seed trays are invaluable to the gardener

DSCF0957-cutout

and sometimes people use the most unusual containers

DSCF0761

or what about this lion-guarded bowl of thyme in the Herb Garden at Sissinghurst Castle Garden?

DSCF2425-cutoutDo you have any preference?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

38 thoughts on “Containers”

  1. They are all so charming and inviting. I greatly miss my larger outdoor spaces in previous homes, but container gardening has come into its own. Have you tried, or do you have anywhere to try, the wall devices for vertical gardening? I am putting that on my project wish list to research whether that might be feasible on any of my outdoor walls. Would love to hear some recommendations for apparatus or plants that work well for that.

    1. Vertical gardening is one way to go. I haven’t tried because we are in a rental house and I don’t want to damage the walls, but my neighbour has planted trees in containers and grows clematis through them. My only vertical is an obelisk with sweet-peas 🙂

      1. Obelisk and sweet peas sounds perfect! I had to leave my obelisk behind on last move because the honeysuckle had become so entwined I didn’t want to chop it to free the obelisk. My karma gift to new owners 😦

        1. Well that’s a lovely gift to leave them. I have considered growing honeysuckle here around the wrought-iron railings, but figure it would be difficult to move.

  2. What a great variety of containers. I really enjoy everyone’s riff on a theme, and the way their blog identity shapes their take. You of course do gardens, but with unexpected twists like the glasshouse; and your signature tilt and your whatever-you-did-to-the-white-flowers-with-the-purple-hearts. My favourites? The statue, and the wheelbarrow with its long stalked denizens.

    1. I wanted to buy the statue in the greenhouse – he looked so lovely amongst the pots of Streptocarpus (Cape Primrose) and Pelargoniums. My sort of place. I suppose I should have posted this on the garden blog.

  3. I love the wheelbarrow too, Jude, and would never have thought of planting it with those tall gladioli. But the best bit is the idea of a MOVABLE garden – flowers on wheels – way-hey…

    1. Thanks Jo! Still got my Monday walk to do for you though – still there is only rubbish on TV tonight so I may get some of it done 😉

  4. A beautiful collections of planters Jude! The lion guarded herb garden is my pick, although I am a huge fan of terracotta urns too 🙂

    1. Ha, I’d already done that on my other blog (flowers) so I needed a new take. I did think of other containers, but kept coming back to pots. Glad you like them Ronnie 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

