A Word a Week Challenge: Kitsch

kitsch-2

Steckfenster’s is one of the best and most eclectic antique/vintage shops in Penzance (Chapel Street). Does anyone want to buy a Dalek?

Every week Sue from ‘A Word in Your Ear’ dips into her English Oxford dictionary and picks a word on the page that it falls open at. The challenge is to post a photograph, poem, story – whatever the genre you like best to describe what that word means to you.

This week’s challenge is KITSCH (click to join in with the challenge)

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

24 thoughts on “A Word a Week Challenge: Kitsch”

    1. If you like that sort of thing I guess you could browse around it for hours! All I could think was why on earth would you want to buy ANY of this stuff? But then I hate clutter.

    1. I knew there would be someone who would like this stuff. I ought to have known it would be you, given on how many times you have mentioned the clutter in your garage 😉

  1. I love the concept of a random-word theme. Should I try it with a Polish dictionary? – all we have in the apartment. Multiples.

    I don’t think I have a kitsch photo. Better go looking! Or maybe I just don’t recognise kitsch!

    1. Not sure the rest of us could cope with a Polish dictionary, with the exception of the restless one. I always think of kitsch as something that is completely distasteful, garish and mass-produced or something sentimental. There must be something like that in Poland!

      I like the William Morris sentiment – an object has to be useful or beautiful.
      J xx

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

