Just back From… Kirkcudbright

I have visited Scotland a few times, but never Dumfries and Galloway. I’d heard good things about the region, not least that they have some good gardens on account of it being near the Gulf Stream so the climate is warm, wet and mild – i.e. no frost.

P1170601

Having booked a week in Keswick for the OH’s 65th birthday, I realised how close to D&G we were going to be, so on a whim, booked a week in Kirkcudbright known as “The Artists’ Town” because of the generations of creative artists who made this their home. It is also a fishing town, though most of the catches, mainly scallops, are apparently sent to France. With its wide streets, prettily coloured houses, free parking and independent shops and many activities in the town and the area it looked like a nice place to relax.

We stayed in the High Street, in the heart of the town behind the castle and close to several art studios, art centres and art galleries.

P1170509

 

1-hr-(2)

P1170564
MacLellan’s Castle

P1170573

P1170588

Lots of lovely flower displays to be found down a wynd (alley or narrow lane) or pend (architectural term referring to a passageway that passes through a building, often from a street through to a courtyard)

Malaya Garnet Clematis
Malaya Garnet Clematis

Some very interesting houses and shops:

P1170720

Very interesting dormer windows
Very interesting dormer windows

Spectacular river views along the Dee:

P1170657

Art and Creativity

Harbour Gallery

Churches and Public Buildings, often in distinctive red sandstone

P1170785
The Town Hall

And what a delightful week we had, culminating in a little jazz  🙂

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

47 thoughts on “Just back From… Kirkcudbright”

        1. It’s always the same – when I had the time I didn’t have any money, then I had money, but no time. Now I’m retired the money is an issue again. Oh, well, we do the best we can, and travelling vicariously is OK by me nowadays 🙂

    1. It is a pretty little town, and very quiet too – apart from the church bells and tollbooth bells – but they add to the charm. We loved it there!

        1. Hah! We make up for it here – the clock strikes every quarter of an hour and at 8 am, noon, 4 pm, and 8 pm the carillon plays. We also have bell ringers on a Sunday, and often the bells ring for hours! The sound echos around the old streets too, but it is part of Ludlow.

          Oh, come you home of Sunday
          When Ludlow streets are still
          And Ludlow bells are calling
          To farm and lane and mill,

          Or come you home of Monday
          When Ludlow market hums
          And Ludlow chimes are playing
          “The conquering hero comes”

          A E Houseman.

  1. Such a quaint little town, Jude. The ruined castle would be my first stop, and that sculpture is so moving. The pastel paint colours and the dormer windows, really add to the charm. Love the ‘Hokey Cokey’ sign. It brings back memories of actually doing that dance. 😀

    1. Thanks Sue. I will write a separate post about the castles we visited – most from outside as we were there after closing, but they all were ruins and very small compared to the castles around here 🙂

  2. Great presentation, Jude, we love your impressions. I’d love to go there as Klausbernd thinks this place is one of the nicest in Scotland as well. But the time… This autumn we are starting on the other side and you are so right, one needs a lot of holidays to see it all. It will definitely be on my list for future visits, though. Did you go combine it with the Lakes?
    Have a great weekend.
    It’s raining cat and dogs in Cley right now, we’re so happy for the garden! 🙂
    Dina xo

    1. Yes Dina, we went to Keswick first then on to Kirkcudbright – less than 2 hours drive between them. I’ll be doing more posts on the area and gardens we visited so watch out for them. Did Siri and Selma see the fayries on the Lakes post? Specially for them 🙂

      We’ve had a few of those cats and dogs here today, got soaked going to the market! But fine now. And I don’t need to water the pots – they were VERY dry!

  3. If I’m not careful, I’m going to return home longing for the delights of the built world, rather than the beauties of ocean, mountains and lakes.

    I love the matter-of-factness of the ruin going about its business in the middle of town; the two very useful new words; the way you showcase the variety Kircudbright offers. And of course your magnificent photographic eye.

    1. Your comment is so lovely, thank you 🙂
      I guess I take photos of buildings (and flowers) so much because I don’t have the beauty of the ocean, lakes, mountains etc on my doorstep. I do feel much more at peace with myself when I am in those sorts of environments though.

  4. And it ended with some jazz? Sounds ideal! Some of these photos remind me of Lewes in some way, the windows and the streets, even the castle! What a gem of a town, bet you’re glad you went there on a whim 😉 Have a lovely weekend Jude xx

        1. I know, very disruptive! I’m blogging and watching Wimbledon at the same time like you, trying to get my post out (just did, phew!) and prepare posts for the week. Still, looks like Andy is on his way. Can’t wait for Rafa tomorrow 😉

        2. Yes, I agree. Did you see the Serena match? I was thrilled by the standard of the tennis and not usually a fan of the women’s. So we are distracted even more… yikes 😉

  5. Great overview of the town and area, with excellent relevant photos too. One for the Scottish Tourist Board I reckon!
    Regards as always, Pete. x
    (Just back from a very sunny Eastbourne, and hugely enjoyable wedding!)

  6. We celebrated NYear in D&G one time Jude but can’t think why we never made it to Kirkudbright it would have been right up my street 🙂 I’ve since become very fond of the works of Jessie M King and think I would have loved to stroll and explore the area . Super pictures .

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

