Ludlow, St Laurence Church: Windows

The Parish Church of Ludlow is crammed behind surrounding buildings so that although you can see the impressive tower from miles around, the actual church is quite hidden.

Inside it is full of history, a perpendicular Gothic delight with medieval stained glass, choir stalls and misericords, chapels and tombs and even the burial-place of Prince Arthur’s heart, who died in Ludlow and altered the course of history.

The West Window, showing the Lords of Ludlow Castle and ending with the unfortunate Prince Arthur.

window-1

The Palmers Window in St John’s Chapel shows a version of the legend of King Edward the Confessor and St John the Evangelist. The story is told in eight panels and centres round the Ludlow Palmers making a pilgrimage to the Holy Land

window-9 palmers window

window-8

Detail from the Jesse Window (restored to the original colours and design) in Lady Chapel

window-10-Jesse

The Annunciation or Golden Window with St Catherine and her wheel (L) and St Christopher (R)

window-9-st-catherine

Window in St Catherine’s Chapel

window-6

And finally a window in the unusual octagonal porch

window-7

This weekly challenge is hosted by Dawn from ‘The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story. Visit her blog to see more windows and/or to join in with the challenge.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

35 thoughts on “Ludlow, St Laurence Church: Windows”

  1. Some wonderful examples of stained glass windows here Jude. Ludlow seems to be the gift that never stops giving. Just a shame it doesn’t have a beach as well!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. After almost three years I am starting to think I have photographed every inch of it! But I’ll see what is happening over the weekend 🙂

    1. That Palmer’s window is pretty amazing. You can stand and look at it for ages. The last panel (where the close-up is from) is of the Palmer’s feast.
      Have a good weekend too – hope it stays sunny. We are off to explore Hereford or maybe Leominster.

  2. OK. What’s the trick? My stained glass photos always look faded rather than rich and full of light. I think my favourite is the non-figurative last one. I find Christian iconography (?) daunting, because I’m ignorant, although you do a great job of explaining.

    1. Ha, you should see the ones in the trash! And this is not the first time I have tried to photograph these windows! I have found that I need to adjust the lighting a LOT – increase mid-tones and darken highlights to increase the depth of colour and amount of detail. They’d probably be sharper if I used a tripod too as the light inside a church is always dim, but that’s probably frowned upon.

    1. They are quite magnificent aren’t they? It’s like being in a cathedral – quite unusual for such a small market town, but Ludlow was once VERY important and this church was rebuilt in the XV century by wealthy guilds of Ludlow merchants.

        1. I will write a post with photos of the chapels and tombs and the chancel, then you will have seen it all 🙂

          And maybe I’ll pluck up the courage to climb all the steps of the tower for the view!

  3. These windows are just gorgeous and you captured them beautifully. Perfect for Dawn’s challenge (which I’ve been shamefully absent from).

    1. Thanks Sherri. The weather is too gorgeous to sit at a laptop and now Wimbledon has started I’ll not be posting so much! Been to the market and got the strawberries in, nice bottle of prosecco in the fridge – that’s me sorted 🙂

      1. You and me both Jude…doing just the same. Got the cava (I prefer prosecco but the cava was on offer, haha!) Here’s to a great Wimbledon and hopefully will still be able to keep up the blogging…we’ll see 😉
        Cheers 😎

  4. I must visit this beautiful church to see these windows. I have a passion for stained glass although I do prefer the more contemporary ones like those of Tom Denny I have blogged about previously.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

