Kirkcudbright

harbour monotone small

I will get around to writing a post about this lovely little town in Dumfries and Galloway, but in the meantime, enjoy this photo of the harbour at high tide. with a glimpse of the castle. Image taken on our first evening at around 7 pm and it has been slightly desaturated.

(click to enlarge)

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

51 thoughts on “Kirkcudbright”

  1. Lovely! Kirkudbright sounds so nice and friends of mine who know Scotland very well once said they thought this area is the nicest in the country. Look forward to see more of it! 🙂
    Big hug from from cloudy Cley,
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri and Selma
    We just bought two small, old sheds in Blakeney and are now very happy restoring them for Siri, Selma, plants and pots… 🙂

    1. It’s certainly very picturesque Dina, rolling hills, cows and sheep, red squirrels, osprey, red kites and some lovely gardens! Don’t worry there will be a few posts about it 🙂

  2. Great shot Jude. Still water, the feel of the harbour, and the turret creeping in too. Makes me want to rent one of those flats, and sit on the balcony…
    Regards as always, Pete.

    1. I actually think those flats might be holiday lets. I shall have to check as you are quite right, it would be an amazing place to sit in the evening with a glass of red, looking at the river.

  3. well I hope I make it back for the post that follows this shot – and Jude – this photo had me looking and looking. and thought I would share why…. (without begin too cheesy)
    okay, so I have been skimming posts and cropping a few of my own pics for the last hour – and landing here = after the “lady of the cakes” rich cherry photo = well the subtle tone of this photo was refreshing after all the colors I have been enjoying and soaking up.

    The white and black, the earth tones from the river walls and buildings – and even the tone of the rust – all just works for a calm mood – and then the reflection – well looks like 7 p.m. was the right time for sure – then the windows get noticed – but the real beauty (to me at least) was resting in to eventually see all the verticals – the little ones at the top – and then the other ones throughout – the large one to the center left – the ties, the sail poles, etc.

    and so even without the upcoming post, your capture says much….
    nice shot – 🙂

    1. Thank you Yvette for your analysis of the photo – it means a lot to me that you have taken the time to study it in such detail. I too was surprised when I viewed it at how much I liked the verticals – especially the chimneys and chimney pots, as I wasn’t concentrating on them at all in the composition.
      xx

        1. Probably not, but I did like the area and it is much closer to the coast than Ludlow is. To be honest I don’t know where I want to live any more.

        1. I’ll make one! Just finishing off some blog posts before I hit Jo’s walks and head out with everyone else! This is becoming a full-time job 😀

    1. Thanks Lisa – desaturated it slightly, as it was practically b&w but the green was very green so I took it down a notch. Glad you like 🙂

  4. hi Jude, love this photo of Kirkcudbright … we were there in 1979 … the images are seeping back as I gaze at your photo … next I will have to find our old photos too … brilliant shot, thanks so much! Christine xx

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

