One Day One World Project: 17:00 to 18:00 hours

1-hr-(1)

When I see something like this opposite where I am staying, it just cries out for me to investigate. Just who were these people?

1-hr-(3)

At 5:30 in the evening, the rain had cleared and the sun encouraged us to go out and explore the little town that will be our home for the next week.  And an open doorway to a cobbled wynd (a narrow street or alley in Scotland, especially between houses) …well could you resist?

1-hr-(6)

Stained-glass artist and watercolourist E A Taylor and his wife, illustrator Jessie M King used to live here after their return from Paris at the outbreak of the First World War. (Both attended the Glasgow School of Art )

Kirkcudbright is known at ‘The Artists Town‘ having hosted generations of painters, craftmakers and artisans, a culture still thriving today.

1-hr-(4)

And along with a cute and friendly tabby cat, I unexpectedly found this.

1-hr-(5)

Lisa of the blog NorthWest Frame of Mind has decided to run a different project over the next 24 weeks. To try to show what is happening in different parts of the world (if you all join in) at a particular time of day.

If you would like to participate you have until next Saturday midnight to post a photo or write about what is happening in your part of the world between 17:00 – 18:00 this week.  I hope you’ll join in! See links for more details.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

34 thoughts on “One Day One World Project: 17:00 to 18:00 hours”

        1. OK – just checking there isn’t anything I should see whilst up here. It is raining today so we’re off to look at the galleries and museum 🙂

          It is a lovely town to stay in, and the house we are renting is central and lovely and cheap – 57 High Street – if you are tempted.

        2. Thank you! Deluge here yesterday and most of last week but I did get to the Oranjezicht City Farm on Saturday so I’ll post about that this week. Have been too busy hibernating and reading as my addiction – well the one I will admit to that is – has landed me with 63 books screaming to be read. What is a girl to do???? Enjoy Scotland. Oh re Galway & Dumfries, it’s spitting distance from my friend Hayley in Ulverston so I think that’s where the idea came from xxx

    1. Quaint indeed. I am being very nosey popping down these wynds to see what I can discover…

      Check out the links to the artists – quite something!

  1. How charming and quaint, Jude! This is the best kind of travel exploring – spontaneous and without preconception of what we are seeking.

  2. Your shot of the moggy in the sideway is so wonderful that I had to download it. Don’t remember when last I saw something as totally appealing. I shan’t DO anything with it other than drool … 🙂

      1. It’s the whole thing: the rough beauty of the little flowers and vines; the cottage; the mog; the alleyway itself … If I were you, I’d print it BIG and hang it: it will bring you joy whenever you look at it.

  3. That’s a very pretty little wynd. I have probably been to Kircudbright (when I was a child, on one of our many touring holidays) on more than one occasion, but I had no idea it was ‘The Artists’ Town’. 🙂

    1. Several from the Glasgow School of Art settled here, the light is good, very St Ives! Lots of galleries too – I could spend a LOT of money in this town 🙂

  4. There I would love to go and explore. It looks very inspiring and I can well imagine that you left the place with a lot of new ideas and thoughts.

    1. No I didn’t – I felt like I was being intrusive going down the wynds, but thanks for showing me what I missed! I shall check out your other photos too. And yes, I loved staying there, it’s a really friendly town.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

