After the rain…

After driving from the Lake District yesterday to Dumfries and Galloway in southern Scotland, we hit heavy rain. Settling down to watch the women’s final at Roland Garros, we resigned ourselves to the rest of the day indoors as we watched the mizzle turn to drizzle and people with umbrellas passed by.

But, unexpectedly, as Maria Sharapova took the crown yet again, the sun came out, so donning raincoats (just in case)  and armed with cameras, we ventured out to explore our new surroundings.

reflections-1

reflections-3and what a pretty place it is…

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

27 thoughts on “After the rain…”

    1. They were mesmerising Sue – like looking into a mirror, and the light was perfect, just before sunset. I found it hard to tear myself away from the view!

    1. Thanks Sue. I was fascinated by those colours and tried several different angles to try and capture the brilliance. The light was magical. Like St Ives.

    1. I think Saturday was particularly bad all over the UK, though it was dry for us until around 11am. So far today has been beautiful. Are you heading up this way then? I must say I am very taken by Kirkcudbright – a sort of Ludlow by the sea (well, almost). 😀

      1. I’ve been there! I even know how to pronounce it. It’s a bit too far north for me although I believe it has a Gulf Stream climate. If we stray from East Anglia it will probably be towards Cornwall.

        1. Ah yes, Kir – coo – bree! I am keen to see some gardens around here to see how good that Gulf Stream is 🙂

          We were looking in Cornwall, but good property there is not cheap 😦 and neither is East Anglia now – apparently the third region for house price rises after London and the SE!

          Hope you have a good budget!

    1. Actually out in the rain today, but very soft falling drizzle and still warm. Different, but not unpleasant, and an excuse to pop inside the art galleries. I have my eye on one painting, just need to persuade the OH now 🙂

  1. It’s a long time since I have been to D&G, but I remember being pleasantly surprised by Kirkcudbright. It does rain there though Jude. An awful lot…
    East Anglian house prices are up 11%, according to local news. You can still buy a detached house here, for the price of a bedsit in Camden Town though!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. It’s a gorgeous place Pete, and the house prices are so good! Apparently Castle Douglas close by is a ‘foodie town’ so need to look there (en route to a garden and castle). Rained today, but sun out now so off to drive down the coast for a bit.

      As for houses, I’m beginning to think we’ll never buy one! The house bubble blows again…

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

