A Lingering Look at Lakeland Windows

My wish is fulfilled
I am back in sweet Grasmere

~ Woodrow Wilson 1908

Visiting the beautiful Vale of Grasmere in the heart of the English Lake District I couldn’t help photographing some of the interesting buildings and windows in the pretty village.

NT Shop and Storytellers House

Above: The National Trust Shop and the Storytellers Cottage.

(click on an image to enlarge and scroll through the gallery)

Some of the pretty tourist shops and cafés in the village.

windows-2

And the most sumptuous Victorian Villa with lacy barge-boards and wonderful conservatory windows.

This weekly challenge is hosted by Dawn from ‘The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story. Visit her blog to see more windows and/or to join in with the challenge.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

25 thoughts on “A Lingering Look at Lakeland Windows”

  1. Were you just in the Lake District Jude? I think I remember you saying you were going…it’s a delightful place to visit isn’t it? We have been there a couple of times but it’s been too long. Lovely windows. I need to get back to my windows posting. My blogging schedule has been off-track, amongst other things…

    1. And full of tourist buses! Though it is cute and the walk around the lake is very nice. Wordsworth lived here and buried here which is why it is so popular.

  2. Oh dear, I’m sorry about the wet weather, Jude. I hope it dries up quickly and you and your camera can enjoy more of the beautiful landscape.
    Lovely images, they brought back so many happy memories. 🙂
    I remember admiring the window with Wordsworth writing as well, it was more interesting than the house and all the tourists. At the end of Parking lot, sort of behind it, I made lots of photos of the pretty houses + gardens there.
    We keep our wings and fingers crossed for good weather. Fayriedust coming. ##### 🙂 In Bonn the weather is changing rapidly, from rain and strong winds and 15° we are now heading for 34° at the weekend. I’d happily send you half of it on some sunny spells….
    Dina xo

    1. Thank you Dina and bookfayries! Sun came out again this afternoon, and hopefully will be nice tomorrow. Did you see the Storytellers Garden in Grasmere? I took some photos of the fayries for the girls 🙂

    1. We managed to avoid most of the rain on this day, just some drizzle around the lake, though the last two have been somewhat damp. Lovely afternoon and evening today though so got out for a couple of small walks.

  3. Hi Jude – that looks like a lovely place for a multi-day bike tour! The pink paint on window frames against the gray stone building really pops.

  4. I remember Grasmere fondly – the first ever time I was there was on O level geography field work back in the dark ages – we had a wonderful time – sun all week – in fact, I came home with a tan. Not something you generally associate with the English lakes! A lovely spot though.

    1. It is lovely, though touristy rather than somewhere you could live. I’ll post a walk around the lake eventually, with some lovely views.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

