V for Victorian Glasshouses

frizztext hosts a weekly A – Z Challenge

A_Z logo

Event Type: General Blogging

Start Date: Tuesdays, recurring weekly

Description: Every Tuesday I offer the “A to Z challenge”, walking step by step through the alphabet.

If you would like to join in then please click here

Glasshouses in Kew Botanical Gardens, London

V - Victorian Palm House
The Palm House – Kew Botanical Gardens designed by Decimus Burton 1830s
V - Victorian Waterlily House
Waterlily House – Kew

Glasshouse in Osborne House, IOW

v=victorian-glass-house-osborne-house
Osborne House, IOW

Glasshouse at Walmer Castle, Kent

Walmer Castle Kent
Walmer Castle Kent

Glasshouses at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, Cornwall

v---lost-gardens v-lost-gardens-peach

Do you have a favourite Victorian Glasshouse?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

23 thoughts on “V for Victorian Glasshouses”

  1. These are great photos Jude. Interesting angle for the spiral staircase. I had not heard the term glass house before. We would call them green houses or conservatories.

    1. The large Victorian constructions tended to be called glasshouses or palm houses. A greenhouse is more a small structure in ones own garden. A conservatory is tacked on to the back or front of a house. Personally I love Orangeries! Great curved windows, but brick built with pretty tiled floors and loads of palms and citrus trees!

      1. Seems like our naming system is very bland. anything that has palm and citrus trees I want to see more of no matter what it is called. 🙂

  2. I love all glasshouses. And all your photos. I used to teach horticulture at an agricultural college. When things got on top of me I’d take a calming stroll through the glasshouses!

      1. I taught youngsters on the job who were already working in horticulture. It was a dream job until the government got involved and ruined the educational system.

    1. Well, funny you should say that. They always used to be greenhouses, but now they seem to be referred to as glasshouses, especially the BIG ones like Palm Houses. I’d like a greenhouse. I’d like a garden to put one in even more!

  3. I’ve always wanted to go to Kew Gardens. Also Osborne house. You get around Jude and I love that I get to see the end results of all your visits with your lovely captures! I read your reply to Tess and didn’t realise that greenhouses are now being called glasshouses…who knew? We had a greenhouse when we first moved in here and I always wanted one too. But we took it down when we patioed the back as it took up too much space. I hope to be able to put it back up one of these days…and I hope you get yours too! Any news? xx

    1. I think the only real difference Sherri is that greenhouses are not necessarily made of glass. Hence Victorian buildings tend to be glasshouses! As you know I love gardens so every where we go I try to find one to visit 😀

  4. I love glasshouses too – and walled gardens. There’s a lovely one at West Dean in West Sussex. I’m quite partial to the new glass house at Wisley too. Built in traditional style and coming on a treat 🙂

    1. Ah, yes, I love Wisley too but as it’s not Victorian I’m afraid I couldn’t use it in this post. Never did make it to West Dean, though drove past there many times! Always fancied their chilli festival too.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

