Weekly Photo Challenge: Twist

Several things entered my head when I read the subject of this week’s photo challenge:

    • Dancing away in a holiday club to Chubby Checker’s “Let’s Twist Again” in the summer of 196
  • The ‘twist‘ of blue paper containing salt in a packet of crisps
  • Barley Twist – that amber stick of twisted sugar which was probably the cause of many a tooth needing to be filled.

All very nostalgic but the twist is that I don’t have a photo of any of these things (well I have put up a YouTube of Chubby), so I am going with this delightful Springbok in Namibia who had to twist her neck to be able to scratch the itch. Springbok or what about these twisty horns of a male Kudu? kudu-2 so what has got you into a twist? wordpress-20141

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

28 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Twist”

  1. That took me back Jude. Salt in a wax paper inside the bag, barley twists, and Chubby Checker. I was about 10 or 11 then.
    I once had a hula-hoop, and that got me in a bit of a twist on occasion!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Always disappointing when the salt was missing! And yes, hoola-hoops, I loved those when I was about six, no photos of that either 😦

  2. As soon as I saw the prompt word “twist” I thought of the dance. It was my mother’s favorite and we used to do it the living room together when my sister and I were children. I couldn’t figure out how to portray it. Good job and an even better with those lovely horns of the kudu!

    1. They are pretty twisty aren’t they? Sable antelopes have lovely twists on their horns too, but I didn’t have a good photo of one.

  3. Love your take on the twist challenge Jude. You had me with the little blue salt packets and Barley Twists…oh how I remember the fun looking for those salt twists in a packet of cheese & onion crisps! Funny you mention Chubby Checker – love it!! – as when I first saw the theme for this week’s challenge I immediately thought about when my dad used to dance with me to The Beatles Twist & Shout (but as with you, no photos of that!). Lovely photos too…goes without saying 🙂

    1. Cheers Sherri! Didn’t they revive the blue salt packets some years ago? I vaguely remember that, but I’m not a crisp eater these days. A shame I didn’t have any photos to go with my immediate thoughts, although I may pop along to our sweet shop and see if they have a barley sugar stick!

  4. Yes, have a little respect for your elders! 🙂
    My initial thought when I saw your header was ‘isn’t it amazing what some people have in their archives?’ but now I want to join in the twisting. Ooh, ouch, me back!
    The Springbok photo is a joy, Jude. Let’s jump! 🙂

    1. Haha, I loved the twist! Used to get right down to the floor, but then I was only VERY young 😉 Now, if I got down I’d need a hoist to get me back up!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

