R for Rossio Railway Station

frizztext hosts a weekly A – Z Challenge

A_Z logo

Event Type: General Blogging

Start Date: Tuesdays, recurring weekly

Description: Every Tuesday I offer the “A to Z challenge”, walking step by step through the alphabet.

If you would like to join in then please click here

Estação de Caminhos de Ferro do Rossio – located in Rossio Square, Lisbon, Portugal 

R - Rossio Station doors

This unusual building will attract your attention – it is built in the neo-manueline style and quite beautiful. The intertwined horseshoe portals at the front of the building are probably the most impressive features.

R = Rossio Station 2

But just admire the detail around those doors and windows.

R - Rossio Station detail

And as I often say, don’t forget to look up!

R - Rossio Station

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

21 thoughts on “R for Rossio Railway Station”

  1. I loved this spot in Lisbon Jude and your photos are so much better than the ones we took. I am so happy to learn from this post as to how you captured it. Thank you.

    1. Ah! Yes I was going to use this for the Windows challenge, grrr… shall have to see if I have any other views of it. You should take Julie to Lisbon for a short break Pete, it is a city that is relatively easy to explore on foot (a bit hilly, but nothing too bad and there are the elevators). Must write a post about Lisbon.

  2. What an interesting building I had never heard of neo-manueline architecture so I googled it (what did we do before good old Google???)
    yes I agree with Wikipedia’s description “exuberant artistic style” Love the close-up of the details Jude

    1. I suppose we all headed off to the reference library – or had reference books at home! I still have lots of books, but rarely refer to them. Travel really does broaden the mind 🙂

      1. I don’t suppose they sell Encyclopaedia Britannica door to door any more. I wonder how many millions of sets there are world wide gathering dust in cupboards and shelves and never looked at now…

        1. That’s a point – how many poor young men started their sales career selling door-to-door like that. And then double glazing! Arghhh…

        2. I once sold Electrolux vacuums and then Bon brushes door to door in the 1970’s. It was interesting way to make a living….;0

  3. I thought I would be joining you in London, Jude, but Lisbon will do just as well 🙂 Rossio was closed when I was last there so it’s nice to see inside.

    1. Such great architecture the neo-manueline! I shall have to write a post or two about Lisbon, been meaning to for ages. It is a good city to explore, but again another one hard on the poor old feet.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

