Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring

Ash has asked us to respond to this week’s challenge by showing you signs of spring.

“Nothing is so beautiful as Spring”
~ Gerard Manley Hopkins

If you would like to see what others have come up with for this challenge then go to the Daily Post @ WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge

Primulas
Primulas
Peony
Peony
Tulip
Tulip
Snakes Head Fritillaries
Snakes Head Fritillary (Fritillaria meleagris)
Azaleas
Azaleas
Bluebells
Bluebells

These are just a tiny few of the spring flowers I have had the joy to see and photograph over the past two weeks in the south-west and south-east. More spring beauties can be found on my Earth Laughs in Flowers blog as I begin a month of magnolias, camellias, peonies and azaleas and rhododendrons.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring”

    1. I really wanted to avoid flowers as I have the flower blog, but apart from a few lambs I don’t really have anything else! Could have found some Morris Dancers, but they are really not my thing.

  1. Beautiful prints capture the essence of Spring. But lambs do it for me here in the Cotswolds ~ definitely lamb country. We also have Lily of the Valley wild at the end of our garden under the pear trees so which to choose?! I wish I could capture the smell of my neighbour’s miniature Lilac bush ~ it is covered in flowers now and the aroma drifts around my driveway and is dreamy!
    Lilac aroma
    Floating on a gentle breeze
    Drifts through my window

    1. Thanks Sue, it has been a really lovely spring and very welcome after all the wet weather we had. Hope things are warming up for you in your part now!

  2. These images remind me of glass lampshades (Lalique-style) or stained glass windows Jude. Unusual, and strangely compelling.
    Great stuff as usual.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Thanks Pete, as I have the flower blog where I don’t usually post arty shots, I thought I’d do something different on here.xx

    1. The bluebells were lovely, I was surprised to see them this early; I always find photographing them never matches what you see – the blue carpet in the woodland.

    1. The fritillaries are gorgeous, but difficult to photograph because of the pattern and also because they are always moving in the breeze! Using an art effect masks the problems somewhat 😉

  3. I love the special effect of these photos Jude, I would say just the same as Jenny about the fritillary. Glad to see you back, hope you had a super time down in my neck of the woods 😉 xx

    1. Thank you Sherri – just used the coloured pencil effect in PS Elements – to make something a little different. I love meadow flowers and spring is my favourite season.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

