O for OBECNÍ DŮM

frizztext hosts a weekly A – Z Challenge

A_Z logo

Event Type: General Blogging

Start Date: Tuesdays, recurring weekly

Description: Every Tuesday I offer the “A to Z challenge”, walking step by step through the alphabet.

If you would like to join in then please click here

OBECNÍ DŮM / The Municipal House / Prague, Czech Republic

is Prague’s most prominent Art Nouveau building. It is a civic building and concert hall and located on Náměstí Republiky 5 next to the Powder Gate. It is a beautiful building from all aspects. The outside has intricate stonework, gold trimmings, frescos and stained glass windows.

The Smetana concert hall  is an architectural masterpiece, a mix of carved white stone and gold, illuminated by hundreds of lights, and with frescos by Karel Spillar adorning the walls. It is home to the Czech National Symphony Orchestra.

Postcard
Postcard
O (3)
Staircase
Lift / Elevator
Lift / Elevator

A couple of restaurants and an American bar can also be found inside the building though many of the rooms are closed to the public and open only for guided tours. Unfortunately we didn’t manage to time it right, so only had a glimpse of what lies inside.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

22 thoughts on “O for OBECNÍ DŮM”

    1. Well it’s just on the outskirts of the old town near a big shopping mall and underground station so he may pass by it. But there are a lot of beautiful buildings in Prague. How come you didn’t take the chance and go with him?

      1. I tried but couldn’t. He had to go with two others and his company wouldn’t allow it. Plus, we can’t afford it at the moment otherwise I would have made my own arrangements and gone with him. There will be next time, Prague is very much at the top of our ever-growing list 🙂

        1. That’s a pain. I always pay for myself on business trips, though the rooms are usually doubles anyway, plus we pay for any additional days. But at least one flight is paid for! Prague is easy to get to though and quite cheap. The Riverside Mamaison is a nice boutique hotel – away from the noise of the city, but an easy walk in, or catch a tram and it is under €100 per night most nights. I’d stay there again. http://www.mamaison.com/prague-riverside-hotel-prague.html

        2. Thanks Jude, and for the link. We definitely do plan to go. Actually, I found out that hubby was actually 2 hours away from Prague by train so not sure how it would have worked. Still, I’m looking forward to hearing what he thought of it all…although he has said the food and drink is so cheap 🙂 xx

  1. Wow!!! No wonder people keep telling me Prague is beautiful! This is my kind of place, Jude. Did you go to a concert?
    I nearly fell out of my seat when I opened up your home page. Obecni is a word I’m familiar with in Polish. I thought you’d been stealing a march on me and learning the language 🙂 Lovely share, thanks!

    1. Haha, no I don’t speak Polish or Czech – although when I’m in a place I do try to understand my way around in the language – useful for using public transport! We didn’t go to a concert because we were only there a few days – OH at a conference. But there were a few to choose from. It is an extremely vibrant city and full of great architecture. You’ll have to go there Jo!

    1. It is a lovely city with so much to see and fairly compact too. Just keep away from the ubiquitous stag and hen parties that seem to plague these historic cities nowadays 😦

      We went in October and the weather wasn’t great; cold and wet, maybe spring would be a good time.

        1. Oh, I am so glad that spring has appeared here. I hate winter, especially when it is as grey and wet as this one has been. Fortunately the floral kingdom doesn’t seem to have been badly affected. Hope you get some warmer weather soon 🙂

        2. Oh, I am so glad that spring has appeared here. I hate winter, especially when it is as grey and wet as this one has been. Fortunately the floral kingdom doesn’t seem to have been badly affected. Hope you get some warmer weather soon 🙂

  2. Great images, Jude. D’you know, Jude, I have visited Prague a couple of times, but don’t recall this place and I love Art Nouveau!!

        1. Always the case – I could have returned last year, but decided I’d rather keep my money for somewhere I haven’t been.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

