Travel Theme: Clean

Ailsa of “Where’s My Backpack?” is concerned about clean air and is choosing CLEAN for the theme this week. If you would like to join in with her challenge then please do. Everyone is welcome.

My personal bugbear is that of clean water. We take it for granted that we can turn on a tap and have water so good we can drink it, let alone wash in it or clean our clothes in it.  Sadly this isn’t the case in a lot of the world.clean 5

In Slovenia in the Vintgar Gorge flows some of the clearest water I have ever seen. The 1.6 km long Vintgar gorge carves its way through the vertical rocks of the Hom and Bort hills and is graced by the Radovna with its waterfalls, pools and rapids. 

Discovered in 1891 by Jakob Žumer and Benedikt Lergetporer, the gorge was soon after equipped with wooden observation walkways and bridges, and was opened to the public on August 26, 1893. Wikipedia

clean 1

clean 4

On a hot day there is nothing better than walking through this gorge in the shade with the sound of the water beside you.

cleanWhere is the clearest, cleanest water you have seen?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

34 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Clean”

  1. This Slovenian river looks lovely. The green colour is really unusual. The clearest water I can recall seeing was off the coast of Mombasa in Kenya. But that was the ocean, not fresh water. Lovely shots Jude.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. That is so beautiful! It rather reminds me of a place near Javea in Spain where I went one year with my sister. The same crystal clear waters 🙂 I’m looking forward to putting my own post together for this weeks theme, which will also be about clean water!

        1. Back again. That was easier than I thought! I found some lovely rushing water photos in my file from the Olympic Peninsula into the Olympic National Park and also from a trip around the Cascade Loop which you can Google. Both are more than a day trip in a car. Both have stunning mountain views as well!

  3. Absolutely beautiful photos Jude! Clean water is something many take for granted in this part of the world and I appreciate every effort to call attention to the need in all corners.

  4. I’d love to clean my self in these waters, wonderful captures. I think the clearest waters I have seen or tasted was in the Norwegian mountains, but this could of course be wishful thinking! 🙂 Yes I suppose so, Jude.., wishful thinking indeed.

    1. I think any water that runs from snow melt must be clear and clean – until it hits muddy bottomed rivers – that’s why rivers like this which run over stones and pebbles (as in some Scottish streams) always look so clear.

  5. Looks like a wonderful place to go wandering, Jude. Your photos are really lovely. I was interested to note that Slovenia also had its ‘Jacob Zuma’, although a different spelling. 😀

        1. I didn’t see anyone in the water – too fast flowing, too cold I imagine. People do swim in Lake Bled though, which also has very clear water.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

