Windows from the New Testament

This weekly challenge is hosted by Dawn from ‘The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story. Visit her blog to see more windows and/or to join in with the challenge.

Following on from last week’s post about Witley Court today I am showing you the windows from the local parish church for Great and Little Witley. A more elaborate church on such a small scale I have never seen; thank goodness this didn’t burn down at the same time as the house. It is a very small church as you can see from the header photo above!

external

Nine of the ten windows made from stained and enamelled glass by Joshua Price in 1719 and 1721 from designs by an Italian artist are scenes from the New Testament. I’ll let you try and work out what they depict.

(click an image to enlarge)

The pictures on the ceiling are painted by the Italian artist Antonio Bellucci (1654 -1726) and are oil on canvas.

interior

ceiling

This delectable baroque style church is St. Michael and All Angels Church, Great Witley.

Source: Great Witley Church

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

30 thoughts on “Windows from the New Testament”

  1. That is a seriously ornate small church indeed Jude, and a little gem of ecclesiastical architecture. The windows are amazing, but I won’t dwell on trying to guess the lessons depicted.
    I am always amazed at just how many windows you have in your archives!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. It’s quite mind-blowing Pete, not what I expected when I stepped through the door. I need to go back and try and get some better photos, the walls came out a bit too yellow. As for windows, I have always been keen on photographing them and the buildings they are in, so should be a few more posts left yet! Hope you’re not getting bored.

    1. Thanks Sylvia. It is an astonishing interior for such a tiny church! I need to try and get better photos of that ceiling, these don’t really do it justice.

    1. Yes, although I am a non-believer I do like the craftsmanship that goes into these windows. It must have taken a long time to complete each one.

  2. Wow ! – wotta place !!! I’ve never heard of it, and I’m dead keen on English architectural heritage … A wonderful find, Jude – and photographed beautifully.

    1. Thank you! It was quite unexpected. I need to revisit, because some of the photos of the ceiling weren’t very good – and anyway there is an excellent tea-room nearby 😉

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

