Cee’s Which Way Challenge: Those Blue Remembered Hills

Fortunate to have a lovely sunny day on Sunday (Mother’s Day in the UK) and an extra hour of daylight (the start of British Summer time  so clocks went forward an hour) I was determined to get out of the house and go for a walk.

Cardingmill Valley lies on the edge of Church Stretton, a little Shropshire town that I still need to explore.  Church Stretton is a small town and civil parish in Shropshire, England. The town lies entirely in the Shropshire Hills AONB, on the A49 road approximately 13 miles south of Shrewsbury, the county town, and 15 miles north of Ludlow. Wikipedia

c21

Just as Ludlow is the gastronomic capital of Shropshire, Church Stretton is the walking capital of the Shropshire Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. I have been here many times, it is my favourite part of Shropshire and has been called ‘Little Switzerland’ on account of its hills.  And when coated in snow it is very pretty.

Shropshire Hills

But on Sunday it was sunny and spring was springing. We could have taken any number of trails, but decided that we’d return to the Reservoir as it is a wide path and fairly flat.

c1
Turn right onto the orange trail

c4

This trail is quite gentle and soon you are hidden amongst the hills with only the sound of birdsong and a burbling brook. A hidden lost world.

c5

At the reservoir you do have to climb up quite a steep hill to reach the water, and the trail continues should you wish to head further onto the Long Mynd (Long Mountain).

You can swim in the reservoir, though the water probably isn’t all that warm today.

c11

Before heading back to the car park I nipped over a stile to have a closer look at the reservoir and found this pair of Common Toads at the side of the path.  I spared them their blushes and swiftly moved on.

Doesn’t look as though we can go this way, so head back down the hill.

c12

A choice of routes, but I’m going to stick to the one I came along, the other one looks as though it might end in a sheep trail and I’ve been there before and it didn’t end well.

c14

Or you could go over the stream and head for a path on the other side.

c9

Returning on the orange route there are caves up on the left, and ahead on the top of that hill in front are the remains of an Iron Age Hill Fort.

Back at the road we could turn right and walk to the tea-room, but as it is now after 5 p.m. it will be closed.

c3
A typical “Which Way” fingerpost

c17

We’ll head back to the car, after one last look around and go home for a well-deserved glass of red wine. If you decide to come for a walk here, please take note of the signs. Some people seem to think their dogs are much better controlled than they actually are around sheep, and watching a sheep being chased is not amusing for me or the sheep.

c20
The Most Scenic Carpark?

Next time I’ll take you up the red route and see if we can find the waterfall.

Cee’s Which Way Challenge: There is no specific theme given.  It just needs to be some sort of  ‘Which Way’. The possibilities are endless.

 Join in with the challenge or view other ‘Which Ways’.
and you may like to have a look at Jo’s Monday Walks over on Restlessjo’s blog where you are in for a treat.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

33 thoughts on “Cee’s Which Way Challenge: Those Blue Remembered Hills”

  1. Oh I love it there! We went for a short time at Christmas but will hopefully go again for a longer visit with my wheelchair 🙂 Simon’s mum says that even with the chair it will be hard to get to some areas but I want to explore as much as we can! Lovely photos that instantly make me smile, thanks Jude 🙂

    1. You could do this walk Sarah, as it is wider and flatter than most – until you get to the reservoir. You can also get along the main road into the valley which is also stunning. Just watch out for toads!

      1. Ha ha! Yes, the toads are mating at the moment but I can’t get to my favourite local marsh land as the road to Ripley has been closed ever since the floods 😦 Heather tells me there’s some good bird watching up near the reservoir 🙂

    1. They didn’t move at all Sylvia, not even a blink of a very coppery eye! And just look at the hand-grip that male has on his partner. She’s not going to escape quickly!

  2. Ah, the Shropshire Hills! A copy of Houseman in hand, and a nice day ahead. Who could ask for more? Great stuff as always, and a well-observed view of a part of ‘Old England’.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. If the weather stays fine (didn’t today) I’ll try and get a few more of these walks in. Including the Malverns which Housman probably knew more about 🙂

  3. I got so excited when I saw this, Jude! And that was before I saw your kind link to mine. (thanks, pal 🙂 ) I’ve been to the Cardingmill Valley, you see! We stayed at a farmhouse not far from there, and did some of this walk. I can’t remember exactly- it’s a long time ago- but I do remember Little Switzerland and how lovely it was.
    And there I was, cooking the dinner, on a foggy old day! 🙂
    I shall tweet this in advance of it making an appearance on mine 🙂

    1. Glad you enjoyed it Jo, it is your walks that made me think about using a walk for Cee’s Which Way challenge and link to you too by changing the format of my posts. So thank you 🙂

      1. The couple of times I’ve done ‘which way’ I’ve used walks, and I think that probably pointed me in the direction of my Monday walks. Note to self to post another ‘which way’ 🙂 This is lovely.

  4. Ooh, Jude, thanks for the nostalgia trip – my parents lived in Church Stretton for a while and we used to walk in the Cardingmill Valley amongst other places

    1. Yes it is a lovely area. I can imagine myself walking there every day, it is so peaceful (especially when the day trippers have gone home). We have considered Church Stretton, but have heard it is quite damp there, I guess those hills do block out a lot of the sunlight.

    1. It was a nice afternoon Sherri, shame the rest of the week hasn’t been as good (well, Monday was beautiful, but not since). I think I was about 8 when I last saw a toad!!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

