K for Kafka

frizztext hosts a weekly A – Z Challenge

A_Z logo Event Type: General Blogging

Start Date: Tuesdays, recurring weekly

Description: Every Tuesday I offer the “A to Z challenge”, walking step by step through the alphabet.

If you would like to join in then please click here.

This exhibition on the life and work of Prague’s most famous literary son, entitled ‘City of K’, is the third in a series of exhibitions about world writers and their cities.  It explores the intimate relationship between the writer and the city that shaped him through the media of documents, photography and video.

Read more: Lonely Planet

K - Franz-Kafka

 The fountain in the courtyard of the Franz Kafka Museum  in the Lesser Quarter, is created by artist David Černý.  Two urinating men stand opposite one another above a lake in the shape of the Czech Republic. An electronic device turns their hips and raises their penises in a way that the flow of water traces the letters of several quotes on the water’s surface. But since Kafka wrote in German I’m afraid that aspect of the fountain passed me by.

I find it very amusing, but I’m sure some people are extremely shocked when they suddenly find themselves face to face with this – what do you think?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

26 thoughts on “K for Kafka”

  1. I didn’t go there when I visited Prague, and I am not sure what to think of this, as a monument to such a compelling writer.
    Very interesting though Jude, and a good one for the letter K!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. We didn’t go inside the museum, in fact we just came across it whilst doing the usual city wandering. As you say, a great K – couldn’t resist posting it 🙂

    1. I hadn’t realised the significance of the mechanism until I read about it later. I just found it very amusing. A couple of guys having a chat, as you do 🙂

    1. It is the shape of the Czech Republic. It is different, but then I didn’t go inside to see what the museum is like. Maybe that’s pretty different too!

  2. That’s a great K. Jude 🙂 I don’t know nearly as much as I should about Kafka but this seems a very fitting tribute. Thumbing his nose at… in a different way!

  3. next you should visit Brussels, there is a famous little boy doing the same as your dueling urinating Kafka penises. In Brussels you can buy replicas in stone or steel, wood or chocolate.

    1. Well it was a toss up whether to use this or a building also in the Czech Republic. I though this was more fitting though with the letter K in the photo!

  4. Haha, I love this! Anything quirky art-wise is bound to get a response – people will either love or hate it – no grey areas here. While I wouldn’t want it in my back yard either, I can’t help admiring the sculptor and wonder at the bigger message he is getting at.

  5. Who thinks up the designs for these fountains, and who approves them? I find it moderately humorous if somewhat baffling. I definitely would have taken a picture … perhaps a video would have been fitting …

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

