Unusual Things You Find Inside a Garden

Ailsa of “Where’s My Backpack?” has been pondering her visits to gardens around the world this week. If you would like to join in with her challenge then please do. Everyone is welcome.

And I am combining this with the Weekly Photo Challenge from WordPress: Inside.

As some of you will know I do have another blog which is specifically for flowers – Earth Laughs in Flowers – and if you click this link you will be able to read about some of the gardens I have been enchanted by and see some lovely flowers and plants.

But for this challenge I am going to show you some of the odd sculptures and statues that have caught my eye whilst wandering inside the gardens, beginning with the infamous Eden Project in Cornwall.

(click on an image to enlarge)

The Bee
The Bee
The Rites of Dionysus by Tim Shaw
The Rites of Dionysus by Tim Shaw
WEEE Man, Outdoor Biome
WEEE Man, Outdoor Biome
spider
Incy Wincy spider…or is it a crab?

Next is a visit to the National Botanic Garden of Wales.

Welsh Black by Sally Matthews
‘Tawr’ A Welsh Black by Sally Matthews
'Pi' by Rawleigh Clay
‘Pi’ by Rawleigh Clay
Circle of Decision
Circle of Decision

And finally a few sculptures that have appeared in my favourite garden, RHS Wisley in Surrey.

Doves
Doves
Henry Moore's Arch
Henry Moore’s Arch
Wicker 'Pear'
Wicker ‘Pear’
Wicker Sculptures
Wicker Sculptures

What unusual things have you found in a garden?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

28 thoughts on “Unusual Things You Find Inside a Garden”

    1. The wicker pear was lovely, my youngest grandchild used to love hiding inside it. Shame it’s no longer there. I thought the bull was very strange!

  1. You win, hands down, for the most unusual sculptures in a garden, love the ginormous bee, but the whatever-it-is in the third pic down is just down-right scary. It looks like something from a syfy alien movie!

    1. Haha, thanks Iris! Because I post a lot about flowers and gardens on my other blog I wanted to show a different aspect of gardens. And I agree about the WEEE man, he is built out of recycled electrical components – very clever!

  2. Wisley is a great place to see different sculptures – they usually have a really good display at the end of the summer and many of the pieces are for sale (at a price!)
    My favourite picture here though is the Pi – so simple, very effective!

    1. Yes Pi is good, unfortunately I didn’t get it at the right angle as it is intended to frame (in the circle) a folly ‘Paxton’s Tower’ on a nearby hill.

  3. Wow, odd is one word but they are so interesting and original they make for a great post! My “garden” idea looks pretty boring right now… maybe I’ll rethink what I chose to post for tomorrow. 🙂

    1. I like to look at these challenges in a different way, I figured that most people would blog about a garden (and indeed I do on my flower blog) so I tried to think ‘outside the box’ I’m very happy that you enjoyed the post ;-D

    1. I was using the word as ‘notorious’ rather than in a bad way, although I do think the price they charge for admission is daylight robbery.

    1. You’d need a very large garden for most of these Judy, although I wouldn’t object to the wicker sculptures. (If I had a garden that is) 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

