Weekly Photo Challenge: Perspective

This week’s photo challenge is about perspective: post a photo which is not what it seems to be.

For those who are looking for an extra bit of challenge, show us two photos, each one showing a different angle or interpretation of the same subject:

Well I am always photographing the same subject at different angles, especially with flowers, where the shape or texture changes.

perspective
Thistle flower from above – spherical and smooth
Thistle flower from the side
Thistle flower from the side – oval and spiky
sunflower macro
Sunflower – a bee’s perspective
Sunflower head
Sunflower – the human perspective

and often with architectural details where distortion is inevitable

Incised Geometric Painting
Looking up – Incised Geometric Painting inside the Main Gate (Taj Mahal)
The Main Gate
The Main Gate from a distance

or unusual

What do you see?
What do you see?
Old advert on a building
Street Art – white paint on top of an advertisement

If you would like to see what others have come up with for this challenge then go to the Daily Post @ WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge 

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

30 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Perspective”

    1. I was amazed by how wonderful that thistle looked. Just a random weed growing in my daughter’s allotment (as were the sunflowers) and I caught sight of that lovely circlet of flowers. Who’d have thought it would look like a glass paperweight from above!

    1. It seems that the thistle has been a hit! Hope you had a good weekend Pete, weather has been grand here today (a bit foggy yesterday) but I have been stuck indoors trying to resolve (unsuccessfully) a BSOD error on my old desktop PC! What a pain! Looks like only a complete re-installation will do now 😦

      1. Not such good weather tomorrow, according to the BBC. As for computers, I’m afraid you lost me with BSOD.
        Weekend was very good, it was nice to get out. (And nice to get back too!)
        Regards as always, Pete. x

        1. Haha, blue screen of death!! Still at it – been through all the hardware tests and eventually removed my anti-virus software (and that took some doing too!). Have now installed a new version of the sw and letting it scan my PC before restarting the machine and hoping that it lets me log back in again!!! (Only reason I use that machine is because I have a financial package on it and it is essential for doing the tax return).
          Another nice day here, though cooler. I WILL get out tomorrow 🙂

    1. Thanks Jo – I need a better camera for macros, mine aren’t very sharp, but I keep trying! Computer fixed now – yay!! But Chrome playing up with WP today – does it never end? Luckily sites seem to work using IE so I should be able to get my A-Z challenge post up today. Hopefully. 😉

  1. Oh Jude, I’ve had horrible problems all day with WP. I’m now back on Firefox and so far so good. I couldn’t comment, pages wouldn’t load and I couldn’t even get on my own blog. I’ve wasted so many hours trying to get it sorted out, grrrrr….I’m even more behind now so I hope I can still do my ‘perspective post’ but I’m not very inspired at the moment! I think that Chrome was definitely the problem so I’m abandoning that little venture…anyway, enough of that…

    Loved your photos here, very clever, particularly the thistle. A really great take on this week’s challenge 🙂 xx

    1. You are not alone Sherri. It has been dire for me too, but I used I.E to publish my post. Even my OH couldn’t see blogs on WP with Chrome, so it is definitely an issue with Chrome.

      Thanks for the compliment, it seems the thistle is a hit!

    2. Sherri, try clearing the cache in Chrome – go to the control button, settings, advanced settings and clear browsing data. Check the first 4 items only and select to clear from beginning of time. Then close and re-open the browser. Note: You may need to log in to WP again and other programs that you remain logged in as it will clear those settings.

      1. Right, have noted and will do so. Sorry only just getting to all this, been terribly held up….another grrrrrrrrrr…..thanks so much for Jude, I’ll keep you posted.

        1. I have to tell you that although I cleared the cache last night, today Chrome wouldn’t load my flower blog! Resorted to IE again. Plus uploading photos keeps freezing the page and I have to reload. I ‘save draft’ before I do anything now!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

