A Word a Week Challenge: Violet

Every week Sue from ‘A Word in Your Ear’ dips into her English Oxford dictionary and picks a word on the page that it falls open at. The challenge is to post a photograph, poem, story – whatever the genre you like best to describe what that word means to you.

This week’s challenge is VIOLET  (click to join in with the challenge)
Color icon violet v2

Roses are red,
Violets are blue
Sugar is sweet
And so are you.

Violet (the colour) sits somewhere between the shades of blue and red. Purple is closer to red, violet is closer to blue and more subdued than purple. So violet can be mauve or lilac or lavender – soft muted shades that lean towards the blue end of the spectrum.

 So here are a few of my violet shades captured in flowers:

(click on an image to enlarge)lilac

Tulips
Tulips
Russian Sage (and Globe Thistle)
Russian Sage (and Globe Thistle)
Hardy Geraniums
Hardy Geraniums

and if you have enjoyed these flowers then perhaps you would enjoy visiting Earth Laughs in Flowers for some more 🙂

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

39 thoughts on “A Word a Week Challenge: Violet”

    1. Haha, yes – I did think of Parma Violets (remember them?) but the rain is so torrential now that I daren’t go out to buy some! And I need no excuse to post a few flowers 🙂

    2. Mmm… sweet tobacco and jazzies don’t ring any bells. I do recall sweet cigarettes, the white ones with the red tips, which I ‘smoked’ from about age 5! And horrible liquorice sticks – the woody ones.

      We have a lovely old-fashioned sweet-shop here – my grand-kids love to browse around it and I have to take my daughter midget gems and Yorkshire mixture when I go to visit her.

    1. Thanks vannillarock – what a sweet name 😉 (sorry it is all this talk about Parma Violet sweets that is doing it)
      Yes, these colours certainly sing out on a grey day and make me think of summer!

  1. Lovely images, Jude…brightened up a grey day… Oh, and Parma violets, I remember eating those on the school bus! A French friend once gave me the most divine French violet sweets, can’t remember the name, but I did see some once and they were eye-wateringly expensive (so I didn’t buy any)

    1. I always found it odd to eat something so perfumed, though I did like those perfumed hard jelly sweets (floral gems?) for some reason. At least they left you with sweet breath 🙂

      1. Reminiscence, eh? I found it odd to eat something so perfumed, but as I have got older, tastes change…lavender Crème brûlée was a thing apart!

        1. Oh, I’ll have to go there one day! I didn’t know there was a lavender farm in Hampshire, I’ve been to one in Norfolk.

    1. If we get a summer, I am so tired of all this rain! Though it is clear now and cold. But so much water every where. I love lilac, but my mother wouldn’t allow it in the house – some old wives tale about it.

      1. Sure! 🙂 I love making my soda bread with lavender in the summer. We have lots of lovely lavender in Rhu Sila. Pop in and say hello if you’re in Norfolk again!
        Dina xo

      1. I’ve had a dreadful head cold all week so I haven’t been out of the house 😦 It made me feel good putting up all the yellow photos. Hopefully the crazy weather will pass for everyone soon. As much as I love seeing all the snow and ice photos from the US I do feel for them that it’s been going on about as long as our floods! I think the colour therapy is doing us all good 🙂

        1. head colds are horrible, you just feel so lethargic. Hope you feel better soon. And you are right, the US has has some dreadful weather too, but all we hear about is the flooding, and I am so over it now! Colour is good!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

