Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie

THIS WEEK, IN A POST CREATED SPECIFICALLY FOR THIS CHALLENGE, SHARE A SELFIE.

I don’t do ‘selfies’, I don’t even like anyone else taking my photo let alone myself. I don’t do ‘facebook’ or ‘twitter’ or even have a smartphone, and for someone who has a degree in computer science I am a bit of a technophobe – or maybe it’s just that I don’t do sharing… except on here of course.  Among friends.

selfie

If you would like to see what others have come up with for this challenge then go to the Daily Post @ WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge 

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

35 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Selfie”

    1. Haha, this was taken by accident, I was holding the camera and accidentally pressed the button! I was going to delete it, but it has come in useful. I hope you get some sunlight to be able to actually have a shadow!

    1. I almost skipped this challenge, then remembered this shot from a very windy Wales – hence the rather bulky jackets. I’m not really like a sack of spuds, or at least that is what I keep telling myself 😉

    1. astonishing isn’t it? People taking photos of themselves all the time, and not of their surroundings even. I wonder where it will all end? And now I am sounding like my mother…

      1. I have been thinking exactly the same, apropos sounding like mother! I blame it on the whole celebrity culture thing, 21st century narcissism -there, I do sound like my mother

    1. I was hoping no-one would notice that! But yes it is, I guess, though not taken with one of those smart things that have a camera at the front and back. It was a mirror shot. I had to produce an image for a travel piece that was published a while back; reluctantly I submitted this 🙂

      But unless I get accidentally caught in a reflection, I do try to avoid being photographed by anyone!

    1. Thanks Tina! Amusing to see how many of us who are photographers (though I don’t count myself in the same class as you are) avoid the traditional selfie – though as Beetleypete points out we do have selfies as our avatars!!

  1. Fantastic this Jude! I am catching up after being away for the weekend and have just seen that this week’s challenge is a ‘selfie’. Yech, I don’t do them either, and have been wracking my brains as to what to go with. But I love your take on this. Hope next week’s challenge is more inspiring!!! xx

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

