A Lingering Look at Windows: # 6

This weekly challenge is hosted by Dawn from ‘The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story. Visit her blog to see more windows and/or to join in with the challenge.

Viansa Winery

I know Dawn loves to visit wineries in her region, so especially for her, here are a few lovely shuttered windows from a delightful winery  in the Sonoma Valley, only 40 minutes from San Francisco. Viansa is enchanting and transports you to Tuscany, with its lovely courtyards, statues and fountains and views. Have a glass of wine with lunch overlooking the impressive wetlands.

Viansa-Winery-3

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

32 thoughts on “A Lingering Look at Windows: # 6”

  1. I must confess to a love of shutters. One of the best reasons to live somewhere hot, I reckon. I also like the internal shutters that you get in fine houses in London, like extra doors, framing huge windows.
    Your picture shows windows with shutters, so it works well for me Jude!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

      1. I think that must be an old photo from Cley Jude. We have steady, icy rain here, and yesterday, almost gale force winds. I am guessing that was from Dina’s back catalogue!
        Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. I’ve never been to Tuscany (yep, it’s on the list!) but so many parts of California looked to me just as I imagine Tuscany to be. The Sonoma Valley in CA has fond memories for me and I love shuttered windows as you well know! Hoping to get my ‘Lingering Windows’ post up soon…been out all day, in this ‘lovely’ weather of ours… 😦

    1. Tuscany on my list too! Hoping that this year will be the year I go there, but who knows! I liked Sonoma too and would like to visit again in maybe the spring or autumn.

  3. Hei Jude,
    I really enjoyed this post – what a beautiful window with charming shutters! I missed this area completly wehn I visited the region, I was not that much into wine at that time, amny, many years ago … 🙂
    My flight has been called now, time to leave London and fly to Germany.
    Take care, Jude. See you! 🙂
    Love, Dina

  4. I’m a sucker for shutters, Jude…love that first image! And you must get to Tuscany, you would love it…Siena, Val D’Orcia, Lucca top my list. 🙂

    1. I’m working on it – do you have any recommendations for somewhere reasonable to stay? I’m keen on Lucca as I believe you can get to Florence from there by train.

    1. It certainly is very popular for weddings I believe! I shall have to find some vineyards to explore on my next visit to Oz, you have plenty there 🙂

        1. Oh yes, Margaret River is adorable. I visited a couple of wineries in that area when I was there, and it is also a good place for lavender and chocolate – how I wish I could live there… sigh!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

