A Lingering Look at Windows: # 5

This weekly challenge is hosted by Dawn from ‘The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story. Visit her blog to see more windows and/or to join in with the challenge.

ludlow feathers

Situated towards the top of Corve Street  in Ludlow (Shropshire) close to where another of the main gates would have been, is the world-famous timber façade of the Feathers Hotel built during the reign of James I. The ostrich feather motifs can still be seen on the collars of the three street gables, although now weathered over the centuries. It only became an inn in 1670.

feathers 1

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

21 thoughts on “A Lingering Look at Windows: # 5”

  1. Ah, the good old Feathers… Lovely building. Funnily enough, Shropshire was in my mind today as I had a delivery of wine from Tanners of Shrewsbury……

        1. I honestly don’t remember the name, I’m not a single malt person, but my OH is and he has a significant birthday this year so maybe I will go and have a look!

  2. Wonderful details, Jude. I must have passed by when I was briefly in Ludlow, but this place is amazing. Lovely to see it in close up. I could cope with more shots. 🙂

    1. The wooden details are quite fascinating, I do have a few more close-ups, but not of the windows, so maybe I’ll do another post on the building sometime.

  3. I loved this little hotel too, though didn’t have the time to stop and really examine it. I love windows and this place is exquisite!

  4. What interesting detail. The history of the old English buildings just leaves me in awe. We think 200 years is old over here and even then the powers that be try to knock over any thing over 100 years old to put another boring square hi-rise or shopping centre in.

    1. Living here in Ludlow can be like living in a museum – there are over 500 listed buildings (and it is not a big town), but the nice thing is that people still live in the houses and it is a community, much as it would have been 500 years ago.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

