Weekly Photo Challenge: “We are Family”

THIS WEEK, IN A POST CREATED SPECIFICALLY FOR THIS CHALLENGE, SHARE A PHOTO SHOWING FAMILY.

elephant family 3
After the Storm

If you would like to see what others have come up with for this challenge then go to the Daily Post @ WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge 

At the Waterhole - Addo
At the Waterhole – Addo

Well, I don’t like posting family photos publicly, and this is essentially a travel blog after all, so my family photos are of my favourite wild animal, Elephants. We all know from the many wildlife programs that they display complex social and emotional behaviour and are said to value their families more than most animals.

elephant family 4
Heading Home
Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

30 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: “We are Family””

    1. Yes, it made me nervous the way some people drove right up to the elephants in Addo, even ones with babies. So unfair the animal is punished for doing what is natural, protecting its young. Mindst you I was sh***ing myself when the lions started to approach MY car. Doubt they could have overturned it, but I reckon they could make a nasty dent!! http://wp.me/pL5Ms-28

    1. They were returning from the watering-hole and just appeared on to the road in front of us, only to disappear into the bush – amazing how such large animals can disappear so easily! Thanks for commenting rachel 🙂

  1. Oh Jude, I adore elephants and I adore your photos of your elephant family, how wonderful is this? I would absolutely love to be able to see an elephant family in the wild like this…sigh…I dream. Do you think they have any at St Ives 😉 xx

  2. Hmm haven ‘t been able to find the comments place on your last few posts…just figured out that I have to like it first 🙂 duh. Love the elephant family, now if I remember the elephants with the big ears are the African correct??…How cool that you got so close! The closest I’ve been is at the zoo…but did see the babies there a few weeks ago, born last August.

    1. I wouldn’t think you have to like it to comment, but it is a new theme. I think you can click a comment link at the very top of the post.

      Elephants are so lovely to watch, though you do have to respect them. We were very close, though with the first family (the top picture) we were behind a fence around the water-hole. The family crossing the road however were feet away from our car. Quite scary in fact!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

